A whole new world!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
December 5th 2007
Published: December 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well hello everyone,

As the title says this is a whole new world for me...I have recently packed in my career of 10 years, training cabin crew and flightdeck for various airlines, travelling the globe, staying in 4/5* hotels, basically having the time of my life (was I mad!?!?) to set up my own business www.Hotel4anight.com.
As a subsiduary of a larger accommodation provider, Hotel4anight is an online accommodation booking agent with access to over 30,000 hotels and apartments worldwide, with accommodation options from room only to all inclusive, budget to 5* luxury. It offers something for everyones needs and budgets and it is if I say so myself a very user friendly site, allowing the visitor to check online 'live' availablity of properties in their chosen destination, actually make the booking and then print off their accommodation voucher, in the comfort of their own home or office, which they simply tske with them and present at check in on their arrival. The site functions 24/7 and is fully autmated. I feel it is a quality product and we offer a dedicated, professional and friendly service (well I would say that but we do - or I do because at the moment I am a one man band)
That was 10 weeks ago, and what a journey it has been. Deciding to actually give up a £30k job was the biggest decision, as I was not to know if the business was take off or pay it's way, but in my heart of hearts, which I,ve always relied on, I knew it was time to hang my wings and give this new venture a go, and nearly 3 months down the road (where has that time gone?) I have no regrets about leaving what was a fantastic job and lifestyle, but maybe I regret each last Friday of the month not getting that healthy debit into my bank account.
Business began really well and on positively. One thing with having 10 years of flying under my belt with 6 airlines, I have got to know alot of people and my crew family habve been brilliant and very supportive with sevraL bookings coming from them abd their family and friends. The past 3 weeks have been ded, but with Christmas looming and all our minds on gfetting those last minute pressies and saving our pennies for the festive parties, it is totally understandable. Befor I started flying I managed my own Trael Agents and this time of year was always dead, and then once Boxing day was out of the way, the holiday advertising onslaught began.
I am looking forward to Christmas this year, as it is the first Christmas in 10 years that I have not had to work, so Iam going to shut shop, probably 19th and visit Family up north and in Shropshire, reopen 27-29th and then I am off to the Big Apple on New Years Eve for a week - CANNO wait - I love NYC!! It's my partners 1st visit, I've been a few times, I even worked out there in my late teens, but every time I go it feels like it's the first time. Apart from San Francisco and Sydney nowhere else does that for me.

I have never been into Blags before, but everyone else seems to be so I thought I would give it a go. I have alot of experience of travelling and just may be able to pass on some good advice, top tips, information to someone out there. I will probably use it as a bit of a diary.
I am off to a networking event tomorrow - how daunting!! It is just not me but I am very sociable and presentable and AI believe in Hotel4anight so we shall see. I am sure it will be fine, I just hope it's not too stuffy and formal.
Well I shall let you know, I better go as I have my old works Christmas party looming and I need my suit dry cleaned so whist its quiet I'm putting the phone on answer and getting some fresh air.
Thanks for reading and listening to my splurge!
Dave

Advertisement



6th December 2007

Well, I survived my networking event, actually it was really good. Met lots of people in the same boat as me with regards to setting up their own small business and it was quite inspirational - just what I needed really and after a couple of wee reds I calmed down enough to introduce me and my business in a 2 minute table presentation followed by a delicious lunch. I expect I will sign up now and become a member, more expense but I think it will be more beneficial than some of the advertising I have done to date. Talking of advertising, I have just secured an advert on our local radio statio Wve 96.5 fm and sponsorship of the home page of their web siote, so that's promising if not b@**?y expensive! Also I have had a couple of very good enquiries today so I shall get myself stuck into those now and looking forward to a Christmas party with some old flying pals tonight. - Bad head tomorrow (I can feel it already!!)
6th December 2007

Well, I survived my networking event, actually it was really good. Met lots of people in the same boat as me with regards to setting up their own small business and it was quite inspirational - just what I needed really and after a couple of wee reds I calmed down enough to introduce me and my business in a 2 minute table presentation followed by a delicious lunch. I expect I will sign up now and become a member, more expense but I think it will be more beneficial than some of the advertising I have done to date. Talking of advertising, I have just secured an advert on our local radio statio Wve 96.5 fm and sponsorship of the home page of their web siote, so that's promising if not b@**?y expensive! Also I have had a couple of very good enquiries today so I shall get myself stuck into those now and looking forward to a Christmas party with some old flying pals tonight. - Bad head tomorrow (I can feel it already!!)

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb