Turkey Day and its amazing randomness!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
November 28th 2007
Published: November 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

YAY for Turkey day!!! As you can see I am super excited that although I am in England for the year I was still able to celebrate Thanksgiving.

Cooking for Thanksgiving offically began on Tuesday night with Carrie and Erin starting the pies. In all they ended up making 7 pies!!!! I know an insane amount but I will let you know why. So Thanksgiving consisted of the 12 people in from the flat, people involved in the program, the German churches' pastor, and the students we invited from the university. In all we ended having to feed about 30 people. Katie and I were in charge of making the roles and man I have never kneaded that much dough in my life. All I can say is that my wrists were quite sore after that. Oh exciting thing is that I learned to make a turkey. I am sound kind of dorky but I had fun learning how to do that and rushing from wactching Lost to baste the turkey. Dinner went off pretty well, we even had some leftovers. Oh but the hilarious part of the night was that even ended the evening with the British students wanting to learn how to beerpong. So the British students, one of our past lecturers and us played beerpong. Oh here is the story about the lecturer. Anyway as part of the class we take as a flat we have lecturers come every Tuesday and explain different aspects of British culture. So there was one professor that we reall enjoyed and invited to dinner. So after dinner we got on the subject of college in the states, he went in Seattle, and the beerpong experience. Now he told us he had never played and so we invited him to play with us. And the funny thing was that he did!!! But I must say it wasnt like he was a creepy old guy that wanted to hang out with us he was only 28 and younger than one of the students that were invited. Anyway, it was a crazy night. So most of the British students had never played so that made the game quite interesting. Andrea, who loves organizing events, made the game into a round robin tournament. Everyone was hilarious because we were crazy going after the ball. The tournament ended up lasting till two in the morning and the craziness was the Tash and I, both us hardly ever playing before, won the tournament.

All I got to say was this was the most random Thanksgiving, but the leftover pie made for a good morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb