Jersey


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I (Adam) scored a week of work on Jersey, one of the islands in the English Channel. As I sat in the departure lounge at Gatwick Airport I soon realised why the general hospital needed extra staff... it seems that Jersey is a popular holiday destination for the senior citizens of London. No doubt some of the holiday packages include an intensive care stay.

Jersey is a very pretty place with a population of about 100,000. Or as my new mate Pete explained, "one hundred thousand alcoholics clinging to a rock" and "when the tide comes in we just stand closer together". People must have to stand real close as the island has huge tides of around 11 to 12 meters.

There is a castle on an island off the capital St Hellier. At low tide I could just walk out to see it and there is also an amphibious Aqua Duck that can take people out at high or low tide.
The castle was cool but I didn't see much else outside the ICU and my quarters as I was on nights till my last day. I borrowed my mate Danny's bike and decided to go for
The Liverpool PubThe Liverpool PubThe Liverpool Pub

The tide came in and everyone stood closer together!
a ride to Portelet Bay. The ride along the coast was spectacular coast and when I hit the mountain I was powering up the narrow road like Lance Armstrong or Paule, surrounded by sandstone walls. That is until my chain snapped....I was having no luck trying to fix it with two rocks, and was about to admit defeat when an electrician’s van passed me. I waved him down and borrowed a pair of pliers, fixing the chain and continuing my journey like a pro.

Portelet Bay was beautiful. It is famous because in 1721 French captain Philippe Janvrin was returning from France, but was not allowed to dock because of fears that the ship might bring in the plague. While anchored off shore he fell victim to the plague and died. The authorities would not allow his body to be brought to shore. He was buried on the rock. To remember Captain Philippe Janvrin I had a couple of pints at the Portelet Inn overlooking the rock and ironically, being in the middle of nowhere, felt a little empathy.

Jersey was a great experience and everyone was very friendly. I want to say thanks to my ICU mates back home, especially Pam, who pulled together to fax references required for me to work on the island. Not to mention the glowing personal reference that a certain person, who will remain unnamed, provided at the last minute. Thanks Fatso.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Low TideLow Tide
Low Tide

No boating at low tide!
Road to Portelet BayRoad to Portelet Bay
Road to Portelet Bay

The scene of the broken chain
Portelet Bay Portelet Bay
Portelet Bay

Final resting place of captain Philippe Janvrin


13th June 2007

Nice place Jersey
Glad you got to look at Jersey, bit lonely without your other half though. Hope you have settled in well in Fulham. Try not to increase the profits of your local pub too much. Should be able to cook up a storm in that Fulham kitchen, hope Steve enjoys the Adam cuisine. Enjoy your time together in London, and I'm glad that Jane has a good job, try not to spend all those English pounds you both earn on beer and food. Try and see a show in the West End if you get a chance (or is it the East End?). Miss you both heaps but look forward to next phone call. PS. Nanna is itching to talk to you (they both miss you and Jane a lot). Love always Mum Reid. xxxoooxxx

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb