Superbowl!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
February 4th 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Feb. 4
It football time!!! Actually football time is over……but it was the super bowl today and it was great. Not perfect though ----- none of the actual super bowl commercials were broadcast over here. Can you believe that?! I really did have a good time though. We all got over to the bar at like 8 and by “we” I mean a huge group of girls. The guys choose not to show up until much later……yes we made fun of them for that. The game didn’t actually start until 11:30 so we watched a rugby game for a while. I really don’t understand that game at all. We watched really closely but about the time we thought we had a pattern something different would happen. Then we got distracted from our search for a pattern by the amount of blood that was coming out of various members of the teams. I’m fairly certain that one of the guys had his nose strapped onto his head…… as if it might not stay there with out the tape. Ouch! We asked some guys to explain rugby to us but apparently it’s a little too complicated to just have a casual conversation about so that just fell by the side. When the game actually started all the Americans in the bar (which was quite a large number) stood up and sang the national anthem. It was fun but mildly obnoxious I would imagine. The best part of the night though was that this event was actually sponsored by the American football team at Brighton. All of us girls from large state school were fairly curious to know if they could even play. I started talking to some of the line men at one point and all I have to say is if I were the quarter back I would not feel very safe. They were so small compared to the behemoths that are the line men back home. Anyway, I could actually care less about pro football but I pulled for the Bears b/c Whitney is from Chicago. I had a great time for a while but by the end of the game I was past ready to be home. We didn’t actually get all the way back to the dorms until like 3:30 or 4 b/c they showed the game when it was actually being played and we are like 6 hours ahead of where ever it was.
What I miss: the super bowl commercials, obviously
What I love: the little pizza things they sold at the pub during the game


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb