i finally got here!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
January 4th 2007
Published: January 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jan. 4:
I made it to Sussex  I’m doing my best to write this right now b/c I’m practically shaking with exhaustion. It’s quite and event getting all the way from Atlanta to London by way for Detroit—don’t even try to make sense of that it’ll just make you’re head hurt. My trip here was just that though- and event…….not a bad one though. I actually met some really nice people who made the trip easier. My flight from Atlanta to Detroit wasn’t all that exciting and the 3 hour lay over was down right boring but my flight to London was memorable. I set with a mother and her 4 little girls—the fourth grader was the one actually sitting next to me. Because of that the mother and I started talking and it turned out that she lived in London and actually offered to let me stay at their house and then take m to Brighton the next morning. I must say that I was shocked by her kindness to a stranger. It didn’t end there though, she took me too the passport check line and then waited for me to get through it even though her family, with their British passports got through their line in all of five minutes. I took me nearly 30 min to get my passport checked by they waited for me and pointed me to baggage claim. Remi even gave me her cell phone number to call her if anything bad were to happen after they left. She said that she would do what ever she could to help. Even though nothing drastic actually happened I felt so much better knowing that this woman was willing to take time out of her day to help me through the airport…..like a guardian angel in some small way. Then I was fortunate enough to run into a girl named Katie at baggage claim who was going to Sussex just like me. So Katie and her aunt, mom and cousin invited me to take the train with them to Brighton. That ended up being an adventure with enough luggage for two girls to spend six months here and for the other 3 ladies to take a 2 week vacation. It was a mad dash to get off and on the train with all that luggage every time. At all the stops however though we were offered help by the people on the train. I don’t know who told me that the British were cold and unfriendly---- but I haven’t met a person like that yet. I’ve met some of the nicest people already. Once I got to the campus my exhaustion started to catch up with me. I was having some technological difficulty and with me being so tired it seemed 80x’s worse and I just wanted to cry. Actually I did cry---- but only a little. Either way that was over quickly enough b/c I finally got my internet to work which meant I could talk with my parents and it also meant that my dad could tell me how to fix my cell phone----so all was well once again. Not to mention if found a cherry coke in the little food mart on campus…that really might be what made me feel better :-P I was a little lonely for a while this afternoon. For a few hours it seemed like I was the only person who came here with out knowing anyone else and none the little groups seemed to have room for another. Luckily with in just a little while I met Paul, Brian and Whitney who also live on my hall. Its not like we are all the best of friends now but it was nice to have some other people who were here on their own as well. There was a fish and chips dinner arranged for us tonight but not only do I not really like fish and chips so much—my social skills were draining fast b/c I could hardly keep my eyes open. So instead of paying £3 for a meal I probably wouldn’t eat and might fall asleep during the middle of-- I decided to eat some cereal and start unpacking so I could go to sleep. Which went alright for a little while but now I’m writing this and wishing mom or dad would get on skype b/c I’m a little lonely. I think its going to take a few days to just get used to my new surroundings: smell, sounds, people, whatever……I adore England already though and all I’ve seen, besides the airport and train station, was through the window. Its beautiful though---- I feel like I moved to a post card. I cannot wait to travel around and see more.
What I miss: all my people at home and my down comforter
What I love here: the houses- they’re all adorable and look like each one has its own story to tell.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb