Surprising South Wales!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
August 31st 2015
Published: September 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Well Sunny South Wales couldn't have been further from the truth when I arrived in torrential rain. The traffic was bad leaving the airport and I was still keeping the pretence up that I was in Germany. The reason for the secret escapade at home was simply, my Brother turning the Big 30! Luckily for me, with the excellent planning of my parents my Sister's birthday is in the same week so it felt right to come back, to complete my European leg at home. First call my Brother's house, followed by my parents home to surprise my Dad and Sister who we had arranged to be there. It was fantastic to be able to give them all a cwtch (hug) and watch their shocked faces morph into joy....eventually. Even I was taken aback of how well we had manage to hide my reappearance. ? So once convinced it was actually me, the kettle was put on for a decent cuppa tea made with welsh water. It's one of the best things in the world!!!! The following day was Lee's birthday with yet more secret planning. With him out of the way, it was time to decorate and turn his home into a Pirate Den and us into Pirates. It was another great surprise and a fantastic night. With everyone's costumes combined, the rum flowing and black iced pirate cake it was hard to arrrgggggue that it hadn't been a success! ?? The rest of my two weeks were dissapearing in a flash, catching up with family, friends and old colleagues which was wonderful. This included many impromptu situations where sheer luck had brought us together. Apologies to those, who I just didnt get to see. I did manage to squeeze in some sight seeing even though the weather was mixed. During my time in South Wales I didn't want to loose the fact that this is still part of my adventure, all be it in familiar surroundings. I visited a local 16th century Tudor Manor House - Llancaiach Fawr, located in Nelson. This time, it was a girls day out with my Mam and Sister in tow. It felt slightly odd knowing my two companions so well. ? The house was dressed as it would have been in 1645. The tour around the property is led by two different types of servants, a Kitchen Maid and a Steward. Each take on different rooms and maintain their characters throughout even speaking in 17th Century English. They convey what it would have been like to work and live in such a place with the 'Pritchard' family when there was growing conflict between King and Parliament. The house has a long history and is mentioned in John Leland's itinerary of 1537. I really enjoyed the tour having never visited previously and the fact it was quite different to most others it was a great way to spend an afternoon. We even ended up catching an art exhibition displaying a local groups work using mixed media in one of the out buildings. We got to vote on our favourite piece where the most sought after was given a prize. It's funny how we all chose something completely different. ? Sticking with the Art theme and my love to visit unusual things, me and my sister visited Banksy's "Dismaland" exhibition in Weston-Super-Mare. Banksy who's true identity is still not known is a famous British graffiti artist. The pop up exhibition is only on display for 5 weeks and was prepared in secret at the Tropicana, a disused lido and is "a sinister twist on Disneyland". It was created by Banksy with the help of a number of european artists. It was a fascinating piece of live Art where the whole area mocked all aspects of Disneyland highlighting some real issues. It was a very clever way of highlighting these issues and using the press coverage of the event to encourage the discussion of them. My visit home would not have been the same if I hadn't caught up with my Rambling group who I miss dearly. Cynon Valley Ramblers has been, what my weekends were made for in the last 2.5 years I have been a member. The group has shown me many wonderful sites in my surrounding homeland and so I thought it fitting to share with you, a great walk that I took part in whilst here. The walk was based in the area of Chepstow, mostly through woodland with magnificent views down the Wye valley from the Eagles Nest viewpoint & Tintern Abbey from the Devils Pulpit & the vertical cliffs of Wintours Leap. It was a fair distance of just under 12 miles but worth every step in the rain and sun. We even scored some Welsh ice-cream half way round. ? The surrounds of the River Wye are some of the most spectacular in Wales and well worth a visit and the Cistercian abbey of Tintern is said to be one of the greatest monastic ruins of Wales. It certainly made an interesting feature on our walk. It's also where it stopped raining although walking in the rain gives a definite welsh feel. It's what makes our land the lush bright green and our woodland areas sparkle. By the end however it was nice to have dried off before grabbing a drink to toast the finish of yet another memorable walk. My time at home was flying by and before long, I knew the task of packing would be upon me once more. I needed some nice walking sandals and so decided to head to Brecon where there are lots of walking shops to try and pick a pair up. I'm pleased to say it was a very successful trip and with time to spare I decided to explore the town. It was interesting to do this is an area I had been many times before. Brecon is an Historic Cathedral Town located in Mid Wales. Given the numerous times I had been previously to Brecon I had never been to the Cathedral. It is located overlooking the town of Brecon and houses the largest Norman font in Britain and is the regimental chapel of the South Wales Borderers. It had impressive stained glass windows and was large inside. The day I visited I was lucky enough to view a small exhibition set up of quilted art work created by a local group. Many of the pieces were not for sale and it was obvious the hours that had been spent on them. As I strolled around the town through the narrow streets admiring the Georgian and Jacobean shop fronts I spied a quaint little place called "The Hours". It was a cafe come book shop which served the best GF Carrot Cake I have ever tasted. This washed down with yet another cup of tea was just the job before making tracks back through the beautiful Brecon Beacons to home passing Pen-Y-Fan (the highest point in South Wales). I have always loved this route from the waterfalls running down the mountains to the vast green valleys that unfurl before you to the reservoirs with their mirrored reflections of the sky above, it really is nature at its best. As my last days approached, my case got packed, money got exchanged and I geared up for the wonders of Australia, I felt this time, ready for my next adventure but not before I'd managed to watch all 'Great British Bake Off' (GBBO) episodes to date and the 'Shaun the Sheep' movie. GBBO is one of the things that I've missed and my next challenge is to work out how I can catch the rest of the series when out of the country. It will be my comfort blanket of sorts! I've mentioned my passion for food before and its so true, if I'm not eating it, talking about it, I must be watching it!!! ? My final day arrived and ended with abit of an 'Animal' trail which took in the 'Red Lion' and 'The Lamb', Penderyn on a 7 mile circular route followed by a lovely evening meal in 'The Red Cow', Llwydcoed. Finishing the day with a final glass in what was my local haunt, the 'Glancynon' ?. I wouldn't exactly call my last day a glorified pub crawl but more a chance to take in my homeland once more before jetting off. Given my local area is on the edge of the Brecon Beacons it is full of fantastic scenery, history and has very much maintained an olde worlde charm. Besides the next two days would be spent sat on my bum as I flew to my next destination and hopefully better weather....Perth in Australia.




Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



6th September 2015
Long time friends ensuring I leave!!! Selfie farewell at Heathrow!

Birthday Suprise
Best birthday surprise having you home babe! Absolutely brilliant time in Dismaland, safe flight and looking forward to hearing about your adventures down under xxx
7th September 2015

Welcome Visit
Bloomin' Eck! You didn't stop in those 2 weeks did you?! Was fab having you back if only for a short time. Love all the photos too and they show how amazing Wales is to visit and what scenery there is to offer ? Have an amazing time in Australia and hope the world of work isn't a big shock to the system ?? Bxx
26th September 2015

Ah, I miss the mountains so bad! :) Can't wait for my first trip home (at Christmas time!) - Pen Y Fan is definitely on my list. x

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb