Experience


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
August 27th 2014
Published: August 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It isn't a dirty word, someone on the BBC said to Verity Lambertin 1963. He was skeptical that a woman could produce a popular TV show and that it would be a flunk, but then she went on to create a show that would go on for another 50 years and that's Doctor Who. The reason why I mentioned that is because it seems no matter what position your looking for, it can still stand in the way of opportunities. The argument is that people always want experience, including me at anything other than a job. It could be sports, education or personal gain which can lead on to other things. But people have suggested to me it's not what you know, it's who you know.

Which I feel contradicts the requirement of experience- because you might know someone who can help you start up a business, but not know a thing about management but it happened through other people.

Now that I've had a crack at other jobs, it's something more to put on to my CV. I never thought I'd land a job as a chambermaid, even if it was for a short period, I can just exaggerate my duties- because that's how I feel you can really impress employers as long as it's not lying. Until recently, when I was unemployed for a year, I found it hard to really impress myself and returning to Wales is like a second chance, especially now that I'm older and more ready for work and different hours.

I was so used to 9-3 hours at school that it was a bit of a shock suddenly have varying hours and 8 hour a week days too, but I'm already looking forward to the next year, my final year of education. I've also discovered what a competitive world it is, not only in the travel industry which is devastating for me since I'm not too competitive myself, but I'm really going to work hard; my original plan since enrolling was to become a holiday rep soon after but then I realised how you really have to sell products and excursions. I was fully aware a holiday rep isn't all about partying and sunbathing but problem solving and effort to make sure your guests are having a satisfying holiday.

Japan no longer seems so far away from me- I've looked at reliable websites such as British Airways for return flights and other expenses like travel insurance and how to prepare for this trip. The weather doesn't seem too hot for March so I suppose lights clothes to pack. I think I'll bring a biiig bag so I can squeeze lots of souvenirs in there.

When I get home, I may have an interview for another employer in a shopping center I go to all the time. I haven't had much luck with employment there, but there's no stopping me trying the same place again three or six months later.

Lately life has been a little stressful and so I haven't gotten back into Zen music, I used to turn my Wii on and listen to it through the TV and read my book. There's some lovely one's which make me nostalgic now from when I was 14 and at Christmas time. On YouTube- simple, Japanese Zen Music.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb