Progress


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
August 17th 2014
Published: August 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Two of my favorite thingsTwo of my favorite thingsTwo of my favorite things

The Cure and sushi! Oishii! I had some in Hong Kong
It's been a long few weeks since I've moved in to Wales again but I've taken every hour I could get my hands on so far, apart from one day when I just couldn't move. I've been here 17 days and have had one day off and two pays, even though my hours vary from 2-8, I'm still very grateful I'm here, it's only£5p/h and sometimes I just want to collapse from exhaustion or frustration.

But I've been reading my stars, I'm a Picese and it turns out most fishies are suffering the same mountain of hard work I am so I'm hoping it will eventually shift and work will become more easier, one the bright side, at least I'm getting some consistency with my work. I've done 17 hours in the past three days of various jobs from waiting, washing up and chambermaid all in one building which I live right next too.

It's just at this point that I've started to feel a little homesick, I miss my cat, my dad, reliable transport and decent places to eat- but I'm mainly showing my resilience and getting stuck in where I can because during most days of the
Hong KongHong KongHong Kong

my 18th birthday trip and before my boyfriend told me he loved me. he asked my what my favorite song was before I left and a week after I got back, he got his guitar out and started playing it, I was so surprised and happy.
week it's quiet anyway and I've always felt so stressed trying to think of something to do when there's no customers so each day is a new challenge.

A few of the guests were very talkative too, so I chat to them at the bar after my shift, some are amazed that I'm only 18- very mature, they say. I've also gotten a few good feedback from them too saying my assistance was faltless and I'm good at my job, so I just think of that when things get tough.

My boyfriend has also been very supportive of my work too, although he misses me a lot since we have no privacy in reception to really talk, but I'm always making time to see him and ask how his day was. His mother is going into surgery this week too, so I'm trying to be with him when I can to make sure he's doing ok.

Even though we talk everyday, whether on Skype, SnapChat or FaceBook I still send him a post card of places I've been to stay and he sends me stuff back, the other day it was his guitar pic! I sent him a tiny bear I used to play with my dolls- because we can't actually hug, we send a bear icon on Skype so it was close to a physical hug I guess.

We've also been speaking more Japanese sentences and conversations too, so my vocabulary is definitely getting better and language structure. I try hard to find time to do a little studying too although my schedule is very tight at the moment.

I often think of Hong Kong, I went there in April, just after my birthday and before he first told me 'I love you', so much has happened since turning 18. He's definitely changed my life.

It had been such an amazing experience, but in the mean time I have now saved £550 for Japan- that's a one way ticket so far!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb