Mosquitos in Wales? In March?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
March 19th 2013
Published: March 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

No. No, of course there are no Mosquitos in Wales in March...yet I still find myself waking up in the middle of the night as I slap my arms in an attempt to kill the absent blood suckers. I have a fear of Mosquitos, a genuine fear. Why then, did I bloody well choose SOUTH EAST ASIA as my next travel destination when I know already that I am going to be eaten alive? If I'm honest, the answer is quite simple: I had an opportunity to travel with James, play a bit of frisbee on some breathtaking tropical beaches, achieve my PADI...and I was drunk. I'd spoken about it briefly with James but ultimately I was a little bit (/a lot) tipsy when I booked my Sky Rewards flight at a bargain price. Thankfully I've managed to get Wall Street Journal on board so as I can get some good commissioned pieces out of this trip. Phewf.

James will have just got to Bundang/Bundaberg/BANDUNG and will no doubt be a little stiff from his 9hr train journey...whilst I am lay awake at 2.30am in Wales thinking about all of the things that I need to do/buy before I join him on April 8th. I still don't own any suitable swimwear, I don't have any sunglasses, I don't have a kagool (which James tells me I need if I'm to remain dry AND be cool at the same time - he's growing a beard and beards are cool so he must know what he's talking about), I don't have a backpack, I don't have contact lenses and I don't have insurance...this list genuinely could go on. No wonder I can't sleep.

Anyway, three more weeks and I'll meet James in Kuala Lumpur for what I think will be the funniest, most eventful and quite possibly the best two months of my recent years. I cannot wait!

Giddy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb