No Particular Place to go


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Isle of Anglesey » Holyhead
May 6th 2010
Published: May 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me and Flo(w)Me and Flo(w)Me and Flo(w)

setting off
Dear friends, have decided to post a blog, see if it still works.
I so enjoy writing about my travels, so here's some of my first writings about my journey:

1. April 2010
I left home on 30th March, with my new tenant moving in as I cancelled the electric! Most salutary to condense my belongings and pack them into my loft, garden shed, and friends’ garage. And this feels a good time to be setting off on adventure.

After a great long weekend in Devon, on the Womens Healing Retreat, and a few days with friend Erica in Buckfastleigh searching for a van, I realised I wanted something smaller than those I’d been looking at. We soon came up with the idea of a Romahome made by Citroen, and Gumtree provided this very one, in London, and close to Caspar’s, where I was heading to next. Such synchronicity! So I’ve bought this little van, crab-like, with a car-like cab, and comfy bed and small cooker in the rear. It feels perfect for me, runs on diesel and has power assisted steering, very useful. Slow up hills, but I’m happy to take my time, and have got used to driving her already.
Her name is Flow (as in, go with the.... ) and we’re settling down to a gentle life together.

So far I’ve spent lots of time with family and friends, that’s been really useful for the first 3 weeks of my “journey”, especially over the extremely cold and frosty nights, but now is a good time to start being on my own.

2. End of april Near Llangollen
On a farm campsite, near to Llangollen, where the 2 “ladies” lived.
I’m feeling extremely relaxed and delighted to have reached this place today; I set off from my friends place near Presteigne at noon, much later than expected, I’ve definately slowed down! And headed north, aiming to find the wonderful wholefood stores outside Bishops Castle (I did, and spent lots, stocking up on goodies I might not find in Wales!)~ lovely women in there, everyone I meet wishes me well, has a peep inside the van, and envies me!
I decided to pause at the stone circle south of Shrewsbury, Mitchell’s Fold, which I haven’t visited I think for around 20 years! I remember being there with friends, and Jack who was very small, for some special occasion, possibly the harmonic convergence? In our old VW camper van, met with loads of folk and had a great time.
This time there was one lone hippie van up there, with a guitar-playing guy.
I wandered up to the stones and around, a nice pause, but didn’t feel much atmospheric energy. Quite windy as ever up there, and a fantastic almost panoramic view.
I set off north again, heading for north Wales on the A5. Interesting driving on the big main roads with my slow little diesel van, but seems to be OK so far; if I get queues behind me there’s always some place to slip into, to let them pass. I decided I’d settle for Llangollen, and just as I neared the town, spotted a caravan sign, fortunately a small farm site, easily accessible from the main road, but can’t hear it thankfully. The birds are a joy!
So I’m set up with my van’s 2 feet down to support her, have cooked a nice meal including nettles gathered here, and been on several walks around the local footpaths, the last one turning up some wild garlic which I picked and ate too.
I notice how I like to make contact with folk, and wonder if I can manage to spend a day on my own (I know I can of course, but the temptation to share with someone is great).....would like to be able to feel self-sufficient enough to spend it with myself.
Haven’t found an internet place yet, so hope I’ll be able to post this fairly soon.



3. 27th April:
I’ve been blessed with sunshine for much of my journey so far; extraordinarily small amounts of rainfall for april.
This morning the sun - already well up - is pouring light through my top stable door onto me still cuddled up under my duvet. The birds accompany me with their glorious chorus.
On my walk last night I came up on an enormous ash tree up high on a tump, much of her roots exposed and glowing pink in the evening sunlight. Would have loved to draw her, but didn’t get back to do that.

Instead I set off down to town in the morning, to the library to check my emails and to visit Plas Newydd, the house where the two ladies lived together for around 50 years. I love any history, and this certainly was full of it, masses of wooden carving all around inside and out, apparently using old sawn up chests; the stories abound, whether they were lesbians or not, as they did sleep together, but so did many folk in those days..... Outside the cafe later I caught the eye of two women, we were all listening to our audio-tapes, so funny, and possibly all wondering about the likelihood of the stories.

4. 28th April.
My purpose is to trust, so I try to remember to ask for guidance at each stop, where next? The A5 took me up to Betws-y-coed, where I found a delightful quiet farm campsite just out of the village; where I’m the only camper! Such luxury, feels like it’s mine. I’m surrounded by the tumps and bumps that decorate this ancient landscape, all holding trees and shrubs. And the delightful Carol, a teacher of Welsh, who is the care-taker of this site.
I drummed last night to the nearly full moon of Beltane, as she peeped thru the cloud for a while to show herself in her full glory, her “hare” in vertical position draped over her.

I’ve acquired a tame bullfinch who visits me regularly, checking out for titbits. I can hear a woodpecker amongst the birdsong, and buzzard has flown over each day. I have a wonderful view of the many mountains of Snowdonia from my van, perched up high above the village, and later I discovered the famous Capel Garmon burial chamber is only a short walk away.
So I’m wandering the footpaths, picking nettles, loving being in this magical place, wild and untouched by humans, other than to graze animals. I passed a large white bull guarding his family last night, quite scarey, but I held a stick in my hand which made me feel larger!..... he looked the archetype of Mabiniogion tales, with some small black marks over him, good to see him presiding over his progeny, and not alone.

I'll add more another time, currently on Holy Island off Anglesey, exploring loads of ancient sites.
love to all,
Margot

Advertisement



6th May 2010

hi from usa
hi margot, so glad to hear you are on the road again and lovely to read your flowing commentary and once more feel a connection with your travels and life. i have been thinking of you recently, as i run on the path near the creek that we sat by when you passed through ithaca on your last journey. we have moved house and 'settled down' in our own place, and are back near nature again ourselves (altho bike and walk distance to town). happy travels....much love, allison, john and louis
6th May 2010

wonderful! tales from the traveller part II - love it!!!
Thanks darlin' for sharing this with us all. Was just thinking about you and wondering whether to call your mobile and voilá - a message / blog and here you are with me, telling me all about it - fantastic! I don't know the Mabiniogion tales??? Our weather just took a backturn from Spring for a few days, but started improving again today, which was mostly sunny. Got out to pick our snow-peas/mangetout finally (after several days rain) and couldn't do it all in 1 go!!! Our guests were laughing about our 'Torrente' when they arrived, with a few dribbles in it, but Monday morning they had quite a wake-up call when they looked out the window and saw it in full flow and eddy ;-) Huge hugs darling - looking forward to more entries when you can - brilliant! ever your gracie

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1.2mb