Wales and the All Blacks for the big 25


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
November 7th 2005
Published: November 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Brother James, Welsh cousin John Paul and MeBrother James, Welsh cousin John Paul and MeBrother James, Welsh cousin John Paul and Me

Chillin in a wicked Welsh pub getting amped up for the big game.
Well................What better way to celebrate my quarter century. A weekend in Cardiff, watching the All Blacks play the Welsh (Im half Welsh) with 75,000 others, chilling with James, Anna, Russ and my Welsh cousin John Paul and his wife Kim.
The weekend was made all the better by the fact that we wasted the Welsh which made for an awesome all-nighter that evening.
The day started with a 8am bus trip to Cardiff - I meet up with a couple of dudes who I went to primary scool with - Crazy- but cool. Then we had 5 hours till kick off so it was off to a awesome pub packed with Welsh supporters to soak up the atmosphere.. It was awesome to catch up with my cousin John Paul.
Then it was off to the stadium - Russ and I made sure that everyone knew who we were supporting on the way to the ground - had some good times on the way. Then it was into Millenium Stadium - Im not even going to try explain this, but it totally blew me away. After a wicked game, our all nighter began. The night was awesome - mainly because half of
Yeah - Chillin in the Cardiff CastleYeah - Chillin in the Cardiff CastleYeah - Chillin in the Cardiff Castle

Damn I love the Welsh dragon. Awesome
Wales was out on the town and they are super friendly people - I cant imagine what that place would be like if they beat us. When the nightlife shut down at 4am it was off to a bunch off Welsh dudes place who were awesome - the night continued there untill our all nighter was complete and the sun was up. Then it was off to my cousins - was awesome to meet my lil second cousin who is five weeks old.
Then in typical style I realised I forgot our tickets home - ha - but we made it sweet.
So all in all it was a wicked weekend and I look forward to heading back sometime.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The boys and Russ the MaraThe boys and Russ the Mara
The boys and Russ the Mara

Buy this stage we were well and truely feeling the awesome Cardiff Vibe and lovin the Welsh beer.
A bit of Welsh publicity on the old Nogin.A bit of Welsh publicity on the old Nogin.
A bit of Welsh publicity on the old Nogin.

Being half Welsh was awesome, and especially being able to talk about my Grandad who is still the youngest person to ever Play for Wales. They loved it. Cheers Pops.
Staunch Welsh supporterStaunch Welsh supporter
Staunch Welsh supporter

The Welsh are awesome - they were all super friendly and everyone wanted to have a chat.
We sat with a bunch of Kiwis but were surrounded by Welsh.We sat with a bunch of Kiwis but were surrounded by Welsh.
We sat with a bunch of Kiwis but were surrounded by Welsh.

Was awesome to be so close to there supporters at try time.
Timmy P lovin it.Timmy P lovin it.
Timmy P lovin it.

I cant describe the feeling when making it up the stairs and seeing this - you could feel the atmosphere and I got lost in the moment hard.
Big Russ and me chillin at PhilomonicBig Russ and me chillin at Philomonic
Big Russ and me chillin at Philomonic

Were we spent most of the night and morning.
Then it was time for some good Ol 'Fish n Chips'Then it was time for some good Ol 'Fish n Chips'
Then it was time for some good Ol 'Fish n Chips'

With the rest of Cardiff - Classic
Then it was back to these dudes place.Then it was back to these dudes place.
Then it was back to these dudes place.

These guys were awesome and loved having some Kiwis around. We definately got a taste of some interesting Welsh culture with these dudes.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb