All Blacks in Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
November 25th 2006
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Go the All Blacks!!!

Clean Sweep of Europe 😊

The trip was pretty cool. I went with my Cousin who came back from France with us. But the day didn’t exactly start off too well. I had been out the night before for a “couple” (well that was the plan) and ended up having a fairly large night. So getting up at 7am to catch a 8:15am bus was none too pleasant.

The London Tube lived up to its name and once again was delayed, so we made it only just in time. Sitting on the bus as we left London I was feeling seedy to say the least. Luckily our two tour guides we known to me so I was singled out for extra ribbings and mockery…..just what you need when your hungover.

There was a group sitting across from us that cracked open the beers at 9am and passed one across, which I declined (I don’t favour the hair of the dog theory), for them to only insist, so I took it and placed it in the cup holder in front of me. An hour later and the crowd getting rowdier I decided it was time to join the party and knocked the beer back in quick fashion and headed for another.

We became rather good mates with the group across the isle from us, and one of the guys (who’s name shall remain anonymous) had the later of a 2yr old. We began taking bets as to how many loo stops he would make in the 4hr journey. It turned out he went every 15mins!!!! Something his girlfriend wasn’t exactly impressed about.

Once we arrived in Cardiff we all headed for the nearest bar to have a few drinks and to watch the English take on the South Africans. There were too rooms to this bar and when we first walked in everything was fine, then in my drunken state went to the bathroom and came out into the wrong room only to be faced by a sea of red…immediately the welsh supporters roared and began singing to their new companion dressed fully in black and clearly in the wrong place.

I was promptly offered a beer (on the condition that I didn’t support the English in the game) and had a wonderful time until the game started.

We were all very disappointed that the Haka was not performed and began our own one in the stands. The game was great, the atmosphere amazing (especially with the roof closed on the Stadium, and of course the result even better.

We had participated in a little sweepstake on the bus on the way over, and I had drawn number 12 Luke McAllister to score the first try…Within minutes of the game starting he crossed, and I was £48 richer

I cant say I really remember much of the 4hr trip home (seemed more like 30mins) but id rather not remember a bus ride.

All in all a great trip, and I cannot wait to see the All Blacks win the world cup this year!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb