Lochranza


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 16th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Weather Report

Dawned sunny and seemed likely to be another scorcher. However by late-morning cloud cover had developed and it was pleasantly warm but definitely not hot. This presages the expected downturn in the weather.

As planned decamped slowly and calmly. Took 2½ hours to pack - quite a skill shoving all my goods into one large rucksack, a smaller rucksack and a camera bag. My feet are blistered - unusual for me - so the walk with 45/50 lb weight was doubly painful. Fortunately as I neared the halfway mark I arrived at a bus stop at the same moment as a bus. The latter took me right into the ferry terminal where I left the large ‘sac in the left luggage. Wandered around Brodick for an hour or so, bought so food in the Co-op and consumed on the beach.

Caught the bus at 1.40 heading for Lochranza (northern tip of the island - take ferry from there in the morning). Asked the driver to drop me at the entrance to the campsite which he did although it is not an official site.

The site is about one mile from the ferry terminal so not a pleasant walk to look forward to in the morning. The site has many more - and much better facilities - than Glen Rosa and has wild deer wandering around - some excellent photos. Made use of the laundry facilities so now have full load of clean clothes. Will shower in the morning so will look presentable for Islay.

Campsite proprietor asked me if Glen Rosa c-site was as wild as ever. Unfortunately I had to inform him that was no9t the case. I had not mentioned it before but I did not have one undisturbed night there because of rowdy groups - usually young men. Apparently it has a reputation and Lochranza quite often receives ‘refugees’ from there - most weekends in fact. Spread the word !!!!!!

Lazy evening watching the deer and reading. Tomorrow Islay.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb