A Day in Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
May 5th 2011
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we woke up to Rain!!! What is going on!!
Ha Ha, just kidding. We have been so lucky with the sunny weather, I am sure we can cope with a little rain today.
We walked into the City and, although I had a raincoat on, I was very wet and my feet were sodden inside my boots. We caught the red "hop on hop off' tour bus and did the full loop so as we could have a look at Glasgow city. This took about 1 1/2 hours. When we got off the bus to have lunch I spied a "nothing over a pound" shop and bought 2 umbrella's, a pair of dry socks and some innersoles for my boots. LOL!!
After lunch I spotted a shoe shop and threw my old worn boots in the bin and shouted myself a new pair! Dry warm feet - luxury!
Steve and I then wanted to go the Riverside museum, but found out that it was still under construction and not due to open until Mid May. We stayed on the bus and got off at the Glasgow Botanical Gardens. They were lovely. There were several indoor domes that you could wander through and the plants and flowers were very well displayed. There was a fish pond and many statues set out within the buildings. It was also dry and warm inside.
We spent a couple of hours wandering around these lovely gardens.
When we got back on the bus the traffic was very heavy and it took over 2hours to get back to our drop off stop.
We enjoyed having a walk around the city area before heading back to our accommodation.
It was nice to get in this evening and have a hot cuppa.
We enjoyed our day in Glasgow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

097097
097

Queen Square


6th May 2011

Love the kilt!
wonder if he has warm woolly undies on!!
6th May 2011

glasgow
A beautiful city was there some 35 years ago.! Loads of history.
6th May 2011

rain
we have still had none to speak of, and this eveing I cleaned the sludge out of the bottom of the water butt. New boots eh- well done you. And the trip - and blog- goes on!!!
7th May 2011

holidays
Hi Sue and Steve, Just wanted to say how much I am enjoying reading all about your holiday, you certainly are fitting in so much. It is lovely being able to keep up with you, the photos are great, it certainly seems like the trip of a lifetime, hope the weather keeps fine for you and will keep following you Love Sandraxxxxx

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb