Backflips!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
October 15th 2010
Published: October 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

What a week! Monday Jean had school till 1. I walked into town and met him when he was finished. We went for lunch with 2 of his friends to a Chinese buffet restaurant. It was good. Can't say it was any different than what we would get in the States. There were a few different flavors but nothing to scary! After lunch Jean and I split from his friends and walked around town a bit. We came across these trampoline things (like you see at the fairs) that have the bungee cords attached and you can do flips and what not. Anyways, I have always wanted to try one out, and so I did! Jean thought it was really funny and said that they were for kids! Apparently a lot of other people also thought it was quite amusing and crowded around and cheered me on as I tied to do different tricks on it! The back flip was easy, I couldn’t do a front flip, it was a lot harder because of how the bungee cords pulled. It took me a few tries but I was also able to do 2 back flips in 1 jump which was actually kinda scary! The first time I tried I was headed towards the trampoline face first! Anyways, It was a lot of fun and I was really happy that I did it! After that we headed for Discovery Point. Discovery is a large ship in their Harbor (and the 1 tourist attraction of Dundee!) built in 1901 for an expedition to Antarctica. This was the first ship ever built in Britain for a scientific expedition as well as being built to withstand being frozen into the ice. After reaching Antarctica the ship was frozen into the ice for almost 2 years! The only reason they got out was because another British ship was sent to get them. They had to blast their way through 20 miles of ice before the ship could sail back home! It was pretty interesting to see, wish we could have gone on the ship to look around but unfortunately you can only see the outside. After that Jean showed me around town more we walked past the stock exchange building and many cathedrals as well as the other university(there are 2). We headed back to the flat - It was freezing out due to the wind although the sun was shining a bit here and there! Once it was dark out Jean took me up Law Hill. It is the tallest hill in town and at the top you can see the whole city. We got up to the top and Jean tried to point things out to me that we had seen that day. I tried to take a few photos of the lights but I was shaking cause it was super cold up at the top with the wind blowing! Needless to say the photos are all blurry but I’ll attaché one anyways 😊
Tuesday Jean had school again but he was in class all day. I walked down into town again and wondered around on my own a bit. I found a few more old churches and things that I took photos of and then made my way into the mall where I had a "Brekie" (breakfast) Smoothie 😊 It was super yummy kinda like a Jamba Juice but they put Musli (granola) in it as well! After that I went down a side street and found another outdoor mall sort of area. I went into this little shop and got myself some earrings... spent way more on them than I ever would have if I had been in the states but the earrings I brought for the trip broke the night before so I figured it was ok! 😊 I started my walk back up to the flat around 5 and heard my name being called. Jean and his friends had just driven by me and stopped to take me up, which I was thankful for since it was starting to get cold again! That night we went to meet Jean's friends Danny and Ricky at a cocktail bar called Templen. We had some good drinks and some Alice in Wonderland shots which were blue! After a couple drinks we decided to walk to the bar/club at Dundee University for a night they call Skint. On Tuesdays they do drinks for a pound fifty and charge 2 pounds to get in, which is a lot cheaper than what we would pay for any other place. It is usually for students only but they let me in too 😊 It was 3 floors. The top floor was Karaoke, the 2nd floor was more of a sports bar type atmosphere and then the bottom floor was a dance club. We spent a bit of time on each floor. Jean and I got separated in the club but I was with his friend Ricky so I was not worried however when we did eventually find each other he gave me a big hug, I didn’t think he would let go again, he was so worried that he had lost me 😊 After that we decided to call it a night and took a cab home.
Wednesday was a lazy day, I slept in late and Jean was a bit hung over 😊 We went up to Law Hill again so I could see everything in the light 😊 We spent what was left of the day eating junk food and watching movies!
Thursday we got up early and drove to Glamis Castle. I went in and did the 1 hour tour. Unfortunately we were not allowed to take pictures inside because people still live there. It was neat being in a castle and seeing all of the antiques. It was cool inside, I kept my jacket on the whole time. They told us a few ghost stories in some of the rooms but I did not feel like it was haunted. They said that their castle is most well-known because it is where the Macbeth play takes place. My favorite thing was all the stone spiral staircases and the immaculately decorated ceilings. After the tour Jean and I walked around the "gardens" (I put it in quotes cause that is what they call them but it was just grass and some trees and lots of Highland Cattle) and then headed back to the car. From there we drove up to Kirriemuir. It is a small town and the birth place of J.M. Barrie, the man who wrote Peter Pan. We went hoping we could go look at the house he was raised in but when we got there it was closed (open Sat-Wed, guess we should have looked into that before driving up there haha) We walked around town, twice(it’s not big) and took a picture with the small Peter Pan statue in the center of town. Jean asked a group of gentlemen where we could have some lunch and I was in aww that he could even understand what they were saying! Their accents were much thicker than the people in Dundee. We went into this little pub and Jean decided I needed to try Haggis. They had a starter for it and I told him not to tell me what it was until we left! It came in little balls rolled in oats, it tasted pretty good but looked gross when we cut them in half. We also had a toasted sandwich. I later found out that Haggis is Sheep Heart, liver, and lungs minced with spices and onion - ahhh! Knowing now I’m not sure that I’d ever order it again but at least I can say I tried it! Jean and I were pretty tired by the time we got back and spent the rest of the night watching scary movies! Tonight is planned as another night of drinking, and possibly dancing, we shall see 😊 Hope everyone had a good week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



17th October 2010

WOO HOO
Thanks for the fun photos, and congratulations on your double flips !!! keep the stories and photos coming, I feel like I am on a cultural vacation !! stay safe and warm
17th October 2010

Yeah!
Alice in Wonderland SHOTS?!?! AAHH! Thats Sick!!! You should totally find out what's in them For Sure.
17th October 2010

Bunji Tramps :)
Hey Ness you seem to be having a blast!! always something to do!! i am super jealous!! did you know they have one of those bunji tramps at the mills lol!!! i took my nephew to do it a few weeks ago lol.. yes my 4 year old nephew!! lol!! but i bet it was a lot of fun.. if i wasn't prego I would love to do it!! :) I love reading your blogs!! you seem to be having waaay too much fun!! good thing your able to laugh things off, cause if you weren't you'de probably have a big head ach lol. :) miss you be safe!!
18th October 2010

I wish I could remember what was in it but I dont... Im sure the bar just made it up on their own so we could do the same!
18th October 2010

Hi Michelle! It was so fun I didnt know there was one at the mall but I will totally do it again it was so much fun! Only thing was my hip bones were bruised the next day but its worth it!!! You can do it after you have the baby!
18th October 2010

Awesome!
Great pictures! Glad your having fun as a local & a tourist. Wish I could see your face when he told you what haggis was!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb