John o' Groats here we come


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
September 22nd 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys, having recovered from my leg injury, I set off again on my travels from the Isle of Arran and headed north to John o'Groats via Oban, Fort William, the Caledonian Canal, Loch Lochy, Carbisdale Castle (which is actually a Youth Hostel) and then up to Tongue in the extreme north of the country before heading east to John o'Groats. By the time I had reached John o'Groats I had covered some 3340 miles. Scotland was absolutely beautiful with some very remote regions in places. Staying in the Youth Hostel was rather splendid and allowed one to sample life as an aristocrat. They don't call me Lord Sturdy for nothing! John o'Groats itself was a bit of a let down with me arriving there on a gloomy day, but it nevertheless meant that I had completed another one of the stages I had set myself on this bike ride.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Another random castle Another random castle
Another random castle

On the outskirts of Oban
My abode for the night - Carbisdale CastleMy abode for the night - Carbisdale Castle
My abode for the night - Carbisdale Castle

They don't call me Lord Sturdy for nothing!


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb