Wool Plaid, Fudge and Everything Scottish


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
October 26th 2006
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My travels in Scotland started in a small fishing village called Crail, about 10 miles from St. Andrews - birthplace of golf and host of the British Open every 5 years. I had a break from sight seeing and enjoyed a few relaxing days visiting with family friends. I also stopped up to Aberdeen to visit some old friends from Bermuda for a day. Now, I have been to Aberdeen before so I didn’t really expect much from my time there, except for a nice visit. However, I spent an awesome 2 hours locked in the bathroom of my friend’s condo, only to get out when he got home from work. And no, I did not go in “prepared” and was bored silly. I freaked out for a while (I am claustrophobic and it didn’t have a window), I had a nap, and of course, I used the facilities. Big highlight of the trip!

The last part of the trip north was spent in Edinburgh. I was lucky to have at least one full rain free day to enjoy the city sights. I walked the Royal Mile and spent a few hours touring the Edinburgh Castle. I also did a tour of a portion of the city that is underground. A portion of the area near the Royal Mile was built over years ago with what is now the current street level. However, the close and many of the homes on it, are still preserved underground. These underground areas are said to be haunted, but unfortunately I have no fascinating stories to share from my experience. The rest of my time in Edinburgh was spent indoors, as in fine British fashion, it rained relentlessly.

I returned to Jill and James in London. We took a weekend trip to Bath to visit James' family. We also took in some of the sights, including the famous Bath Abbey and the Roman Baths. I finished up my time in the UK with a final day in London visiting with a old friend from Bermuda. We took in a theatre show, Guys and Dolls. Patrick Swayze was supposed to be starring in it but was ill, however the show was still a good one.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

BathBath
Bath

The Roman Baths with views of the Abbey.
Bath AbbeyBath Abbey
Bath Abbey

Jill and James in front of Bath Abbey.
Big BenBig Ben
Big Ben

Big Ben and Parliament and 12 noon.


30th January 2007

Kilts n things
I think you should have looked up the bagpiper's kilt so you could tell us if he is "regimental" ;) We're thoroughly enjoying reading about your adventures...keep it up!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb