Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
September 11th 2019
Published: September 11th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today I completed my walk down the Royal Mile of Edinburgh. The film crew from yesterday was gone. I never did find out what they were filming. I stopped at the new Scottish Parliament building with its modern architecture that is meant to complement the nearby craggy geologic features. Across the street is Holyrood Palace, one of the queen’s official residences. She wasn’t in today, so I was allowed to take a tour. On my way back into the center of town, I passed a Harry Potter store that sold Hogwarts paraphernalia, magic wands, etc. today I also walked through the “new town“. This is a section of Edinburgh that was built around 1800 and contains many fine examples of Georgian architecture. I got to tour one restored house that reminded me of Downton Abbey, especially the kitchen. Edinburgh is a lot hillier than I expected, so my legs are getting a good work out here. Tomorrow I hope to do more exploring.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb