Scottish Adventures: The Highlands


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
August 15th 2016
Published: August 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Our Tuesday started off the same way everyone's does; driving to the Highlands with The Proclaimers blaring from the speakers, and dreams of rolling green hills and sheep filling our heads. Okay so maybe not everyone's Tuesday goes like that, but that day, ours did.

We woke up bright and early, and after dropping my cousins off at school, set out on our grand adventure. Sadly the first portion of our drive was spent on the freeway, with views of cement roads and hundreds of cars instead of all the sheep and Heilan Cou's (Highland Cows) that I was itching to see. Despite the busy roads, it was a fantastic start to our grand adventure. I mean, there really is nothing like a road trip, especially one throughout one of the most beautiful countries in the world.

Eventually, we did make it off the freeway and onto a country road. And the views were everything I'd hoped they would be and more. It was like something out of a movie; rolling hills the colour of emeralds, sparkling streams that ran over beautiful rock beds. It was honestly one of the most magical places I have ever seen in my life, and each bend in the road, every corner turned, brought forth an even more beautiful view than the last.

That country is so rich, so full of beauty and history. And the Highlands have an enchanted feel to them; you can sense the years of hardship and struggle that the Clans endured. With each castle I saw, I felt more and more connected, and fell more and more in love with Scotland.

You see, Scotland has this superpower. It gets a hold on your heart, and once it gets in your heart, it never leaves. It becomes a part of you; a part you never knew you were missing. At least, that's how it is for some people. My aunt says that when it comes to Scotland Love, you either get it, or you don't. But I am one of the lucky ones. I saw Scotland for the incredible, and enchanting place it was. And after the first hour of the road trip, I knew there was no going back; I knew that one day I would have to live there. And I will.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb