Scottish Adventures: The Beginning


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
August 6th 2016
Published: August 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

There are no words that can properly summarize my time in Scotland; no words that can even come close to explaining to you all what an amazing and magical place it is. But for you guys, I will do my best to give you an idea of what it's like.

My trip to Scotland took place on the 19th of June, and it could not have been better timing. I was at in a place in my life where I really desperately needed a vacation; I needed to be transported (literally) to a place far away from all my problems and worries. So when my aunt said I could come stay with her in Scotland for a week, I jumped at the opportunity. Sunday the 19th my parents dropped me at the airport at 7 am to catch my flight to Calgary. My connection in Calgary was so short that I almost didn't make my flight. I had all of 10 minutes to get from one end of the airport to the other. Needless to say those 10 minutes consisted of me sprinting through the airport, trying my best not to knock other travellers down as I went. My flight from Calgary to toronto was pretty uneventful other than the fact that I had wifi on the plane (which was really awesome).

Anyway you all know how travelling goes I'm sure, so I'll spare you the details of the rest of my travel day and skip to landing in Edinburgh. I landed early in the morning (Scotland time) and my auntie picked me up from the airport. It was so awesome to see her after months apart. We decided that since I hadn't been hit by jet lag yet, we should jumpstart our adventure and go out to explore the city. First we went to The Edinburgh Dungeon which is like a "scary" tour of Scottish crime history with some rides and live shows. It was really cool, and interesting because we got to learn all about the different forms of punishments that were used to deal with crimes over the last 1000 years.

After visiting The Dungeon, we walked throughout the streets of Edinburgh until it started to rain (as it always eventually does in the UK) and headed home for a well needed nap. Then I got to see my cousins which was amazing. Now that they live in Scotland, I rarely get to see them. We went for dinner at the pub down the street, and I had a beef pie and a pint. Going to a pub and ordering a beer (or two) is a must when in the UK. After that I passed out because I needed some rest for our big adventure the next day. My aunt and I decided spur of the moment to do a road trip throughout the Highlands for three days. More on that in my next post. Thanks for reading!

Advertisement



18th August 2016

Interesting
Hi, I am Hafid from Indonesia. Nice to meet you!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb