Scotland the brave


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
April 30th 2010
Published: May 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle

If you building something on a bloody great rock you can't look anywhere but it's direction
Scotland! Edinburgh! I love it!

I'm not sure why though, it's even more Grey than London - but there is something about this place that sits well with me enough to want to move here (except the strong winds - you can piss those right off).

Just over 4 hours train ride from London and I arrived in the centre of the Scottish capital - Edinburgh. Again, with all the historic buildings and history (but slightly less looked after than London). So far so good with the dodgy Bradley ankles verses centuries old cobbled streets (now I've cursed myself).

The incredible Edinburgh Castle dominates the city - and it's pretty damn impressive! I didn't realise how volcanic this area was until walking around it and viewing it from the top of The Nelson monument (endless spiral stairs that make you dizzy). First thing I did was check into the best hostel by far - 'The Castle Rock' - yes, I was staying directly next to the imposing castle. Then with map in hand I ventured around Old Town, down The Royal Mile (High Street) from where it starts at the castle down to Holyrood Castle where the Queen
Hamish the Heiry cooHamish the Heiry cooHamish the Heiry coo

I was disappointed this sexy beast was both red headed and a cow
stays when she's in town (slightly fancier than my hostel).

I continued my love of climbing tall things and ventured up The Nelson Monument and the Calton Hill area for a great view of Edinburgh. Then I checked out the 'New Town' area with its slightly less older buildings and some more modern shops. The city isn't that huge (although you can ride the bus all day long for 3 pounds if you like) but I chose to walk around everywhere. I cooked up a quick meal back at the hostel just in time for their weekly trivia night, which my team (3 auzzies, 1 pom and a romanian) were coming equal first until it came to the last section on Scottish History, but having only spent 1 day in the country and knowing that 'Braveheart' was quite factually incorrect, we came 3rd. The Hostel had great atmosphere and was a great place to spend time and meet fellow travellers - highly recommend.

Day 2, and I jumped on an all day tour to Lochness to find the monster and see the Highlands and countryside. Our small group of people my age hoped on the bus early and
Me from the CastleMe from the CastleMe from the Castle

Not a bad view
listened to our humorous guide Carole tell stories of battles, history, jokes and slagging off the English (unfortunately I was the closest person to being English so I bore the brunt of the tour guides slagging efforts - but she knew full well auzzies can take it - and I just rubbed our rugby history back in her face). Along the way we went past the places of famous battles such as Stirling, Falkirk, Bannockburn, Fort William etc, and were told we would be stopping along the way to meet Carole's sexy friend Hamish. Having started to find the Scottish accent quite sexy you can imagine my disappointment when Hamish turned out to be a red headed hairy cow (or heiry coo as they pronounce it).

Anyway, the winding roads to Lochness went through some cute villages, rough hills, snow capped mountains and waterfalls - all with good old Scottish weather of intermittent rain. I then hopped on a river cruise on Lochness in search of the mysterious monster, but only found a wild goat on the river bank. The day was long and we covered over 500km of Highland roads to and from Lochness, was informed of the
Arthurs SeatArthurs SeatArthurs Seat

the volcanic hill where there is no seat....
entire Scottish Royal History and learned there is more to Scotland than Rob Roy, Trainspotting and Haggis (infact my guide was a bit like the father in the movie "my big fat greek wedding" where she could bring any fact and make it's origins Scottish).

Day 3 and I felt the need to climb Edinburgh's highest natural point 'Arthur's Seat' which is the peak of the Volcano that makes up the area. It was quite steep in some parts and I was quite upset that there was no actual seat at the top of it (that's false advertising if ever I saw it). And when I did make it to the top (in slightly under-prepared clothing) I nearly got blown off the side with the ridiculously strong winds, but it was worth it for the view and I explored more of the Old Town on my way back up to my next destination - Edinburgh Castle.

I was eager to visit the Castle since I first saw it, and would love to view the Military Tattoo there one day. A tour guide in a kilt (even though he was technically Irish) gave a spirited historical tour and from
Nelson MonumentNelson MonumentNelson Monument

On top of Calton Hill
there I spent hours just wandering through the dungeons and displays of military history, the castle's life before and after Robert the Bruce burnt it down when he finally overpowered the English occupation of it, and checked out the crown jewels.

It was then time for a spot of shopping, chat to some of the local cops to see what I have to do to transfer here (who happily offered to do an exchange), cooked some dinner and movie time at the Hostel, before getting all my crap together to move on the next day.

So, I LOVED Edinburgh, but still can't figure out really why - it just feels a bit like home should, and I met plenty of travellers who came to Edinburgh for a couple of days and are still there 1-2 years later. Whether its the laid back and happy go lucky attitude of the locals, the snobbishness of its whiskey produce, the quiet tone of a town that doesn't feel the need to show off, or its warm vibe with a slightly chilly temperature, I just like it. I'll definately be coming back in the near future to spend more time in Edinburgh
Me & my Scottish soldierMe & my Scottish soldierMe & my Scottish soldier

Ok, he wasn't breathing but I do love a bloke in a skirt
and Scotland!

Next stop - SWEDEN!







Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Found himFound him
Found him

An artist's impression of the famous yet to be proved monster
Towards Old Town Towards Old Town
Towards Old Town

From Prince Street shopping district
Grey with GreenGrey with Green
Grey with Green

View from Calton Hill
View of New TownView of New Town
View of New Town

from up top
View of old townView of old town
View of old town

from up top
More CastleMore Castle
More Castle

Not bad since it was rebuilt in the 14th Century after being burnt to the ground
In the lowlands areaIn the lowlands area
In the lowlands area

Before I take the high road and you take the low road......
St Margaret's ChapelSt Margaret's Chapel
St Margaret's Chapel

The oldest building in Edinburgh
The HighlandsThe Highlands
The Highlands

with snow and all that
LochnessLochness
Lochness

The largest loch of all
Highland waterwaysHighland waterways
Highland waterways

A very popular past time
More LochnessMore Lochness
More Lochness

what......do you see something......yes you're right - there is a goat on the hill
Fort AugustusFort Augustus
Fort Augustus

Where we commenced our cruise of Lochness
Me on LochnessMe on Lochness
Me on Lochness

Freezing in lovely Scottish Highland drizzle
Commando monumentCommando monument
Commando monument

A tribute to the Highland area where the first Commando's trained as commissioned by Winston Churchill in the war


3rd May 2010

your Scottish soldier
"I do love a bloke in a skirt" - think you've been around Oxford Street too long, Fred. Suggest you apply for desk job when you return!
5th May 2010

jealous
damn, wish I was meeting you there instead of thailand. I'm impressed; climbing, drinking and a history lesson - not bad. Yup theres just something about Scotland and in particular Edinburgh. Its on our blood. So when are we moving? keep up the blog and take care with all the blondes - they might mistake you and become confused!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb