Walking The Way: Day 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
June 4th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Loch Lomond, Day 3Loch Lomond, Day 3Loch Lomond, Day 3

WHW, Scotland

Rowardennan to Inversnaid to Inverarnan: 14 miles



I had breakfast at the hostel ($8). It was continental, but we could go back for more. I loaded up. God, I love this being able to eat all I want, and still lose weight, thing. At breakfast, I talked to the 2 German women that I had passed yesterday on the trail. One of them was having all kinds of foot and knee issues. I also talked to the first soloist I had met so far, a bicyclist, no less. There were only a few of these. This one was going to have to ferry her bicycle for the second section of the day, Inversnaid to Inverarnan, because this section is said to be the most precarious. After breakfast, we bade our goodbyes ("see you on the trail") and I started walking. The first leg was uneventful. I met a mother and daughter from Canada and I ran into the four men I met on the first day. I also kept passing and getting passed by a group of young twenty something girls that I had seen off an on since day one. I stopped in Inversnaid for lunch. A sandwich and cappucino ($6) and talked to a group of French walkers that I met on the previous day. They were checking into taking a bus or ferry around the treacherous next section. I was just happy to be rid of my backpack, which would be waiting for me in Inveronan at Beinglas campground. The trail was rocky and steep in parts. I had to use my hands a couple of times. There was one point where I had to walk on a 10 ft. section that was not wide enough for me to put both of my feet side by side. On one side was a rock wall and the other was a 30 ft. drop into Loch Lomond. By the time I reached the last couple of miles, my knee was starting to bother me a little on descents and my toe was starting to throb. I found the campground (8 hours after leaving Rowardennan) right on the trail and went in to pay my $12 fee. I set up in a big field with a beautiful view. There was a restaurant, bar and general store. After setting up my tent, I went to the restaurant, picked up my backpack, and ordered a bowl of soup ($8) and plugged in my mp3 player, pc, and phone. I then went out to the field, spread my sarong out on the grass and enjoyed the sun, which a rare thing in Scotland. I was very lucky though, out of eight days of walking, I only had one rainy, miserable, day. I showered and went to sleep early. It was still daylight (but it always still daylight, since there was only about 5 hours of dark, daily).


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bill Lobban Trailside Memorial, Day 3Bill Lobban Trailside Memorial, Day 3
Bill Lobban Trailside Memorial, Day 3

West Highland Way, Scotland
Loch Lomond, Day 3Loch Lomond, Day 3
Loch Lomond, Day 3

WHW Scotland
West Highlland Way, Day 3West Highlland Way, Day 3
West Highlland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highlland Way, Day 3West Highlland Way, Day 3
West Highlland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highlland Way, Day 3West Highlland Way, Day 3
West Highlland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highlland Way, Day 3West Highlland Way, Day 3
West Highlland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highlland Way, Day 3West Highlland Way, Day 3
West Highlland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highlland Way, Day 3West Highlland Way, Day 3
West Highlland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
Yet another fence, Day 3 WHWYet another fence, Day 3 WHW
Yet another fence, Day 3 WHW

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland
West Highland Way, Day 3West Highland Way, Day 3
West Highland Way, Day 3

Inversnaid to Inverarnan, Scotland


Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 19; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb