WHW Day 4, Monday 18/06/18, Inveraman to Tyndrum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire
June 18th 2018
Published: June 26th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Inverarnan - Tyndrum 13.5 miles (15.1 actual)
After a really poor night sleep -was awake from 4-6am, I was really reluctant to get up. Just wanted to stay in my bed. However, remembering how long the walk took us yesterday, I thought I’d better get going!
Was still full up from last nights meal so breakfast just wasn’t very appealing this early, however knowing I had a full days walking ahead I tried to force down a bacon butty - fail! Most unusual for me!
Set off about 8.50 - later than planned, but thankfully terrain/ path much better than yesterday. Much more open too - was getting really fed up with jungle view on previous days, so the open country side with views of the hills, and a better and wider path was really welcome! Weather held up too & only had a couple of very light short showers. The rest of the day alternated between overcast and slightly sunny. Temp felt quite low because of brisk wind, but it kept the midgies away so all good. Forgot to put on the Avon skin so soft so was glad if the wind was keeping them away.
Reached Crianlarich about 11.40, good time I thought. A comfort stop was urgently needed, and some food to refuel, so decided to do the 15 minute walk down into the village. Because my bladder was practically up at my throat by this time, every step felt like an eternity and I thought we’d never get there! Also conscious of the sharp decline down into the village and dreading the climb back up on my already aching feet! We had researched where to eat & decided to go to a tearoom at the station. When we got there - the tearoom was closed - with no explanation! Thankfully the toilet was open, otherwise I’d have been squatting on the tracks!
We carried on into the village to look for somewhere to eat and found a best western hotel. It was 5 to 12 so we thought we were just in time for Lunch..... however, today was not to be our day.! The chef had been delayed and wouldn’t be in until 12.30, so we decided to try the pub further on. The door was locked when we got there although online info said they served food all day from 11. I phoned them to check and was told that depending on the time of year, and “other” factors, the pub opened at different times! Very helpful - Cheers! ?Having exhausted all options for a hot meal, we settled for a sandwich & shared sausage roll at the local Londis store and a sandwich & cup of tea. Just to make our pissed offness complete - the rain came on as we sat at the picnic tables outside to eat it!
But thankfully the climb back up to WHW was not nearly as long or as hard as I’d feared ?
It was now 13.20, and I have to say I was dreading the 6 mile walk ahead! However, it was surprisingly shortsome & I really enjoyed it, hot pounding feet and all. Had a wee pit stop at The Trading Post, auchtertyre farm For a bottle of water & millionaire shortbread, and a much needed comfort break!
The rest of the walk to Tyndrum was lovely. Sun came out & although not overly hot, a fine walking temperature.
We found By The Way Hostel without any real problem- went into campsite first as not sure where to go but then received accurate directions from them.
The hostel is classed 4*, and as far as hostels go pretty deserved I’d say! We had a twin room which was great, however we had to share the toilet & showers. This was not a problem as the place seemed quite quiet. We walked into the village & went to famous green welly shop. This is essentially a “Brodie’s” on the WHW! Sells everything! I bought a new sports T-shirt as I forgot to pack & running out of options as getting smelly! ?
We had meal at Tynedrum Inn & was delicious - their homade curry was to die for! The football was on so quite noisy, but soon died down when game finished.
After meal we decided to go in past the local shop to get eats for the longest walk tomorrow -18 miler, eek! Scary thought with our bodies aching the way they are!
Anyone watching us walking out must’ve had a wee giggle to themselves as we could barely straighten up after sitting a while & were so stiff we walked like a couple of 90 year olds! I had a carrier bag with a bottle of wine in it that’d I’d bought in green wellie shop & I really did feel like jack or victor, walking from Clansman with my wee carryout!
Back at hostel we showered & sat in lounge area for a while & had a few drinks. The place was empty apart from a lovely German girl called Julia. We’d seen her a few times on the walk & she was on her own. She explained to us that her friend was meant to be doing it with her but changed jobs & couldn’t get the time off, so as the flights etc all booked & paid for, Julia decided to do it alone. Brave girl!
After she went to bed 2 other German sounding females came & sat down on the sofa opposite. After a cursory hello they only conversed between themselves, well by conversed I really mean giggled incessantly like 2 immature little schoolgirls. After 20 mins of this I decided shut eye much more appealing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb