Why??


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Perthshire » Perth
July 22nd 2011
Published: July 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Written on 17th July 2011 - Just one week after the decision was made.

So Why? Why give up my flat and sell all of my possessions to buy a motorbike and travel??

Quite a good question that one.

For years now I have worked so so hard to get to where I am. I have a responsible job, a degree and most of the material objects that i need to make life a little easier. The one thing I don't have is the joy and zest for life that I used to have......... the desire, the drive, the focus.

The past year has been a difficult one. In June 2010 My Mum was diagnosed with Cancer at the extremely young age of 58. In September 2010 I made the decision that my Mum needed me full time, so I took some time off work to be with her. My world fell apart on November 28th 2010 when she passed away.

I went back to work in January of 2011 but very quicky noticed that I had lost all focus and direction, something that scared the life out of me. I had always had those qualities, after all they, along with the amazing support I got from my family and friends had got me to where I was.

I was miserable at work and had even lost the enthusiasm for playing the drums in a pipe band and had not danced in months. In June 2011, there were rumours of changes happening at work, the management structure, of which I was part of was to change. I was offered voluntary redundancy........ OH!! what to do??

Suddenly...... someone was presenting me with the opportunity to change something that I was not happy with. I thought long and hard and finally decided that I needed some time to discover the crazy, game for a laugh girl that I used to be.

Over the next few weeks I joked with my family and friends that clearing off round the world was still on my options list. Something I'd talked about for years.

On Wednesday 13th July 2011 I had an 'Eurika' moment......... (some have called it a breakdown!! lol) I decided that I was going. I am 38 years old, my wonderful daughter (Mari)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb