FISH N CHIPS


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Perthshire » Callander
July 30th 2010
Published: August 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Having seen a few reviews on the internet for Callander’s chippy it would have been rude not to give it a go. Opinion was divided. The fish and chips fell somewhere between acceptable and the best ever - and the service somewhere between barely acceptable and perfect - and quite often the review would be mixed, with exceptional food and unexceptional service or vice versa.

I was pleased so see that the chips were cooked in animal fat. This was something that our local chippy had always done and the taste was way beyond anything vegetable oil could produce. I was also happy when I entered the shop to see unusual and locally sustainable alternative catches available alongside the normal cod, Haddock etc..
I ordered one Megrim and one Haddock (needing to do a taste comparison), 2 portions of chips, a pot of curry sauce and a pot of homemade tartar sauce. The guy serving asked if he could put the tartar sauce straight onto the fish but I didn’t know if Emma would want any so I told him no. He then started to explain that they were running short of pots hoping this might make me give in. I told him why I said no. He had a stack of around twenty pots left on the shelf but he obviously wanted to save them just in case a much more valuable customer than me came along shortly after wanting to buy a pot of gold. I told him I would leave it then. He just shrugged and said ‘OK’. Strange sales and customer service technique and an insight into how some of the reviews were very mixed.
…and the fish and chips? Fish: Ok, but no better than that. Chips: None longer than an inch and a little too fatty. At £15 we had expected so much more.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb