Scotland 2007, Day 4, Carlisle to Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 30th 2007
Published: October 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday, July 30, 2007 (Carlisle to Edinburgh):

Today we visited Hadrians Wall (Cumbria- English/Scottish border), Jedburgh Abbey (Jedburgh), Abbotsford House - Sir Walter Scott (Abbotsford).

Hadrians Wall was built by General (later Emperor) Hadrians (Roman) to keep the Celtics out. This wall has pretty much been disassembled because people used the stones to build houses, etc. So, the wall is basically 3 feet high but was 15 feet high in average (40 feet high at the forts.) Hadrians Wall has an interesting story, but since there isn’t much left of it, it’s hard to grasp the grandeur that it was. The sheep were cute though (luckily we didn’t have any men from Arkansas traveling with us)

Jedburgh Abbey- Henry the 8th (?) during the English Reformation burned down all Abbey’s (Jedburgh was Augustinian). This was due to the fact that Henry wanted to divorce/get married so he destroyed the churches and took their properties and created Church of England. Jedburgh Abbey was astounding. To drive into town and see this ruin looming over the houses was breathtaking. It makes me sad to think that the society destroyed it. It was 5 pounds to get in but it was worth it. They are doing renovation on it- but I think they’re just trying to add support to the walls- they aren’t rebuilding. Beautiful ruins and I get my first taste of squeezing up a tiny spiral staircase. I also am introduced to the concept of paying to use a toilet (though I’ve had to do that in the worse parts of Los Angeles). However, pay to pee in Scotland and you get a neato ticket to carry with you for the rest of your life. No, really, show your grandkids someday and go “I peed here!”

Abbotsford House, built by Sir Walter Scott. I was expecting another Burns house so wasn’t really looking forward to this. Unless it’s a house that Jon Bon Jovi use to live in (or does still live in- I’d totally sniff his bath towel), I don’t care about it. However, Sir Walter built an amazing house. The inside is beautiful but I soon got tired of our Tour guide so I went off on my own. You had free reign on the grounds so I walked down to the river (not to pray) and saw two horses just grazing wherever they pleased. They belonged to Abbotsford but were allowed to roam free. I can say with knowledge that they return to their barn daily though because when I was taking pictures of that, they came on over to me. I love horses, but I’m smart enough to be a little afraid of a giant powerful animal. So, I was patting their muzzles while backing to the fence to get my escape. Then, as a hint that they wanted the carrots that I must carry in my pocket, they started “side-swiping” me with their heads- just nudging in their world but quite forceful in mine. They eventually figured out that I didn’t have any food (or that I was a stingy bitch) and went into the barn. I touched horsies!!!!!

The day ended by us driving into Edinburgh and the word “awe” doesn’t even cover it. I would guess that 95%!o(MISSING)f the city consists of the old buildings still. “New Town” Edinburgh was built about 200 years ago and then “Old Town”- well, that’s where Edinburgh Castle is and it was built in the 1100. I’m pretty sure the buildings aren’t that old- but it gives you an idea. You’ll see what I mean by my pictures. I finally felt like I was in another country. I had the afternoon free (Mom & John went to view the Royal Yacht Britannia and have dinner) and I walked from the Scott Memorial up to Old Town back to New Town and walked thru an old cemetery before going up up up Calton Hill and viewing the "Acropolis". Amazing. I change my mind, I want to transfer here, not Scotland. Plus I’ll never have to go to a gym again- there seems to be nothing but stairs around here- even my hips are feeling it.

I love this city- it’s beautiful and old- just like the men I seem to attract while here. That night I was eating at a pub (ok, I was eating at Hard Rock) and I sat next to Aaron at the bar. He’s about 65 years old and works on oil rigs. After he assured me that he wasn’t trying to “get familiar” when he offered to buy me a drink, he asked if I had seen the movie “Easy Riders.” I said no and he went on about the movie and how he use to ride a motorcycle all the time. I asked him why he didn’t anymore (he still has the bike) and he said he was busy and didn’t have time. I then asked for the truth and he said he was lazy. We chatted a while longer and I got up to leave and said it was nice talking to him. I then asked what would need to happen in order to get him back on that motorcycle. He answered, in his wonderful Scottish accent, “I’d need to stay sober”.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Town of JedburghTown of Jedburgh
Town of Jedburgh

hehehe, Spread Eagle hotel. Mom found this shot.
AbbotsfordAbbotsford
Abbotsford

Sir Walter Scotts home.
Calton RoadCalton Road
Calton Road

I just liked the architecture.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb