Another day in Edi


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 14th 2009
Published: August 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it was awesome to finally have a bed. The sleep was incredible. I'm pretty glad i decided to get a private room to myself, no disruption and a good night sleep made me feel heaps better.

I was up pretty early this morning and unfortunately the glorious sunshine of the following day hasn't continued. Today i saw a typical Edi Summer's Day. Cold rainy and yuck... it made me feel like i was home again. It was a a very Melbourne kind of day. Saturating rain but not too cold.

Regardless of the weather i decided to walk the city anyway. I started with a walk up the Scott Monument which is a huge statue in memory of James Scott. It was awesome. There was a spiral staircase up the inside of it. So i trekked up all 287 steps to get to the top and there was the best view of the city. Unfortunately i didn't take my camera so no pics of that one 😞

Then i wandered the city for a while and grabbed some lunch. I went up to Edi Castle and i was about to go in but my camera batrtery started to flash red, so i decided to leave that for another day.

I checked into my new hostel and its a nice place above a cool bar. So i met with Eoghan and we drank many pints over the day (i've found i can drink Murphy's Irish Draught... but no guiness).

We ended up at a show last night to see Will Anderson. He was good. But his show was very philosophical and serious. It wasn't Will at all. So it was funny but kind of a lil bot disappointing.

So after the show i went for a few more pints but had a pretty early night. I've got another big day tomorrow, i want to try and squeeze in a few of the tours around town. So much to do and see here. I really want to come back here when its not the festival coz there's so many people here... most of them Aussies!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb