0800 on 08.08.08 - Waverley Station


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, time to backtrack and start writing this blog. 4 weeks after leaving Scotland I am now able to start updating this.

Thanks to Gel, my ghost blogger, for posting some photos of my departure which can be seen on the D-Day blog. Cheers mate 😊

Well, I got up at 6.45am, hoisted on my backpack, rucksack and (designer!) handbag and staggered down the stairs at Eyre Place to my taxi up to the station.

It was a very emotional farewell from Platform 11 at Waverley Station. A leaving party posse had formed of Mum, Dad, Geraldine, Jane and Mudit (cheers guys!). The emotions couldn't be controlled due to the fact that M&S didn't start selling alcohol until 8.30am, so I had to head off into the great unknown, aka London, without buying my bubbles 😞 Mixed feelings of excitement, dread and wondering what the heck I'm doing.

After drying the tears though (by about Dunbar) I settled down to my bacon sandwich and cup of tea and started to enjoy 1st class travel to London. This could be my last wee bit of luxury, the backpackers budget of GBP30 starts today.

Thanks to good old National Express, I arrived at Kings X on time. Staggered, literally, over to St Pancras. Boy is that backpack heavy, I'm gonna have to de-cant some stuff if I don't want to end up knackering my back. Meet the Explore leader, check in for the Eurostar then head straight to the bar for a much needed LARGE glass of Sauv Blanc.

Board the 1405 Eurostar to Paris. Eventually we realise that all of the Explore group are sitting together, except for Peter the Leader. I am sitting next to Ali, who sleeps most of the way (quel surpris!). Only later that evening will we realise that we are to be room buddies for the trip and share many experiences and become good friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb