Edinburgh, Day 19 Our National Anthem!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 13th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

GEMB in Edinburgh 1999GEMB in Edinburgh 1999GEMB in Edinburgh 1999

This photo was used with absolutely no consent from Mr. B! Don't kill me!
Tonight's performance I believe will be my most memorable of any of the performances. Remember the girl I told you about who's dad was just diagnosed with lieukemia? She found out he isn't doing so well, so Mr. B insisted that she go home, and he had all her arrangements made in about 3 hours this morning. In fact, she should be arriving in Chicago tomorrow afternoon. She felt so guilty for leaving us, and we just kept saying things like "It's no problem, if it were my dad, I'd be doing the exact same thing." Mr. B gave us a speech before the show last night, and then told us we needed to dedicate tonight's show to Nicole and her family. Nicole, if you're reading this, we did you proud, and it truly was heartfelt. I got a little misty during America the Beautiful! The BBC continued filming last night, and I'm not lying, the guy with the still camera was in my face for an entire song. At one point he even said (while I was trying to play and march) "I'm going to put my shoulder on your's and march with you so I can get the perfect angle of you." Well he did, and it was nerve racking! When the song ended he said "Thank you, Cheers!" I think I may be on the DVD now, after all of that! The truly memorable thing about tonight is that tonight was the night the U.S. Ambassador was the guest of honor. We played the Star Spangled Banner along with the Royal Marines with Mr. Barry Bernhardt as the conductor. This was a huge honor for him because he is the first civillian ever to take the dais and conduct the Tattoo cast. It was so cool watching him up there in his Tux, his white gloves, and his big ol' baton! You could tell he was just eating up the moment, and when he was done he got a salute from the Ambassador. I know that had to be such a cool moment for him, because it was for us. I think a few of us even got a little teary eyed. We were playing OUR National Anthem at the Edinburgh International Military Tattoo!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb