Edinburgh Castle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
October 14th 2005
Published: November 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

After a really good sleep wewent downstairs for breakfast.

Haggis.

We ate it. I didn't hate it, but I don't need to have it again!
I needed to go shopping, so I left Mick with the computer, grabbed the keys and off I went...

After several wrong turns, driving down transit lanes I managed to find the shopping area and a parking spot, Edinburgh Castle and Glascow (just kidding). A nice young man pointed out that I had parked in a motorbike spot.

I was after a pair of jeans so in and out of a dozen shops till I found Marks and Spensers who had 9 pound jeans! Yay

After returning to the hotel we packed up and headed to the castle. It is very impressive, perched high on an old volcanic plug. We walked all around the grounds, in and out of buildings some built in the 12th century. Mick hugged some more old rock walls! We saw the Scottish crown jewels, walked some more, climbed up more steps, down some, walked some more....

After exploring the castle, we headed down the Royal Mile, to the Whisky Museum. We didn't do the tour, but just looking in the shop was enough. We settled on about half a dozen mini bottles. I found one for Dad too, a bottle of Single Malt 1937, for 10,000 pounds!!

After some souvenir shopping, we headed off on the next big item on our to do list in Scotland; the deep fried Mars Bar... It doesn't exist! We looked everywhere! Then Mick decided he needed to buy a phone card. This was about 4:40pm in the afternoon. I dropped him off and went round the corner to wait. Unfortunatley I was waiting outside a fire station, then the fire truck was called and I had to move. OH NO, I could not find my way back. I was screaming mad for about 30 minutes in peak hour traffic. At least I could contact Mick (the phone card). Eventually I found him, so cranky! Then we headed home, down the east coast.

We passed the Angel of the North near Newcastle, and got back to Sheffield about midnight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb