First up, Scotland...Barely


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today actually started on April 19th at about 4am when my shuttle picked me up to head to LAX. I was flying Delta for the first time in a couple years. My itinerary was LAX-SLC-ORD-MAN-EDI. Four flights until my final destination. The first two went very fast, and I finished The Kite Runner by the time I got to Chicago. I had started it on the way to Japan over 3 weeks ago. I had about 4 hours at O'Hare, and since we were flying premium economy on bmi, I was able to spend the time in the Scandanavian Airlines lounge because they are airline partners. Immediately into the flight to Manchester I wanted to sleep, but I never felt like I was sleeping really well. The flight was only 7 and a half hours, so it went by relatively quickly too, and I once again couldn't help but watch (not hear) more of Pursuit of Happyness. I know many of the lines by heart, particularly the scenes surrounding the 49ers game. We got into Manchester and little time before our connection to Edinburgh, however, we were not aware that in the UK, you are only allowed to have one carry-on piece of luggage. I had the camera and my laptop bag, and Rick had his computer bag and his camera bag. With no time to spare, they were going to make us check our extra bags, and that meant we were probably going to miss the flight. There was a really nice guy in the baggage claim area though that helped us out, we consolidated our bags so we had what we really needed, and we ran down the terminal hallway trying to make our flight. Of course, security was the most thorough they've been with my camera bag this time, taking out the wireless receievers, transmitters, the camera, the battery for my light, and running it under the x-ray again. The only reason we all made the flight was because of the nice baggage guy. The flight was half full too, with plenty of overhead room for carry-ons. That flight was really short, but we landed in Edinburgh to find only 1 of our 5 checked bags. We had the camera though, so on we went via a shuttle bus to our hotel, which is a nice bed & breakfast called the Christopher North House. We met up with our driver/guide there, because of some confusion at the airport, and we headed for Clark Bros, a fish mongerer known throughout the UK. We got some good footage there, and while shooting a short piece in front of the location, a car literally started to roll over my left ankle. I'm lucky I didn't break something. We stopped next at the Glenkinchie Distillery to learn about making whiskey. It didn't seem like we were there too long, and we moved on to a smoke house, which we were almost not able to film in due to scheduling confusion. We shot a little bit in yucky lighting conditions, and that was if for the shoot day. We had seafood for dinner at a place called The Peacock, and took a taxi back to the hotel for the night. Unfortunately, the weather forcast for the next 2 days in Scotland doesn't look great. This is the shoot with the least amount of shoot days, and it looks like we won't get much, if any, sun. We're used to hearing "you should have been here last week" and "oh if only you could stay til next week."

Advertisement



20th April 2007

How's you Ankle?
Thank god you didn't break your ankle, you know how brittle your bones are, It would be nice for you to be cute, stylish and injured again. But I guess it's more fun to have a cast when you're a kid. Did you taste any Whiskey? How are the lamb in Scotland. We got to bottle feed a 2 week old lamb yesterday. She will not be for eating, her name is Mary.

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb