Porridge, A Castle, A Palace, A famous Dog and more


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 26th 2024
Published: April 27th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Even though I’m sure I could find a cheaper breakfast somewhere I paid ahead of time to have the hotel breakfast. I like to eat and be able to go back to the room to brush my teeth and gear up for the day. I will say the porridge here is pretty good! One lady asked the guy how they made it and he said they use Jersey Cream. She replied they cannot make it as creamy in Germany. Besides porridge there is a selection of bread and small pastries, granola, yogurt, mixed fruits and tea and coffee. The porridge I had in Ireland in 2007 is still the best ever but I cannot express how excited I am to be eating something similar again😊

My castle ticket was pre-booked for 9:30 so I headed out to make sure I had plenty of time for the climb up the hill. My walk took me through the West Princes St Gardens, which is a peaceful place to walk and marvel at the castle way up on top of an extinct volcano. I could not sit all day and look, I had to keep moving! The road wound and climbed at a
Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle

If this doesn't impress you I don't know what will. So imposing!
rather steep angle to join the roads that make up the Royal Mile. Out of breath and with my legs screaming (I need to do more hill walking clearly) I finally made it up to the castle entrance.

Edinburgh Castle, or some version of it, has occupied this spot for a thousand years. The oldest building in the city is a chapel built around 1130. Probably the most famous Scottish monarch was Mary Queen of Scots. She gave birth to her son James VI here. In later years it became a military base, which is still active today. You are free to walk at your own pace through the grounds or pay for an audio or guided tour. I went at my own pace. Some points of interest are Mons Meg, the most famous medieval gun, the impressive Great Hall, the Crown Jewels and the many rooms the public can walk through.

Some thoughts after my visit. The earliest ticket time is the best as the later it gets the more tour groups there are to try to get around. It probably would have been worth it to pay for the audio tour. There were some areas where I would have liked more of the history. Plan to spend at least an hour and a half if not longer.

Exiting the castle I began the walk along the Royal Mile which is a succession of streets between Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. And this route is lined with souvenir shops, hotels and places to eat. Portions of it are pedestrian only which is really nice. My wander took me to Deacon Brodie’s Tavern for lunch where I had a delicious steak and ale pie with carrots and mash. The crust was so good! I’m very glad I ended up poking my head in here instead of one of the other choices!

After lunch I walked through St Giles Cathedral, stopped in the library to check out an exhibit on Scottish writers and then stopped to visit one of the most famous dogs, Greyfriars Bobby. His owner John Gray never would have been famous as he was a policeman who died of TB but his dog reportedly guarded his grave for 14 years until he too passed away. Bobby draws tourists to his grave and then some also walk around the Kirkyard. It’s a very peaceful setting.

Next stop was the National Museum of Scotland mostly because it was free and on the way back to the Mile. There are a ton of exhibits and this would be a good place to spend part of a rainy day. I went up to the rooftop terrace to check out the views and then headed on my way.

I hadn’t planned to walk all the way to Holyroodhouse but suddenly I found myself there with no ticket line. Holyroodhouse is the King’s official residence in Edinburgh, which means it is a working palace also open to the public. King Charles spends one week in residence here at the beginning of summer and during that time the palace is closed to visitors. The admission includes the audio guide, which is handy for the added context for each room. Again we come back to Mary as this is where her husband, Lord Darnley, murdered her secretary. I did not spot the bloodstains on the floor that I guess some people can still see. There are no photos allowed inside the palace so check out the website or visit in person! Next to the Palace are the remains of the Abbey. I love ruins so this was of particular interest to me. The gardens are also very peaceful to walk through.

By this point I was getting tired and decided to just head back to the hotel. My walk back took me down Cockburn St, a rather charming old road, past Waverley Train Station, the main station in the city, the Scott Monument and back through West Princes Street Gardens. I stopped in a small grocery store to pick up a sandwich and salad for dinner. Once back in the room I plopped down as I had no more energy for the day!

Highlights: several kilted bagpipers along the road, learning more about Scotland’s history, which is quite turbulent, wandering cobblestone streets, a delicious lunch and just soaking in the history that is all around. In the castle I was walking the same route and touching the same stones as numerous kings and queens had for hundreds of years. I just love history!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb