First Day of Practicum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
September 7th 2006
Published: September 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had my first day in the placement/practicum primary school today. The kids were so well behaved, it was a bit scary. The children are taught from a very young age a much stricter code of conduct than in North American schools which include opening doors for teachers and other students, being very quiet for the majority of the class and general courtesy and polite manners. It was definitely a refreshing scene to see such well behaved kids. How much this type of ethos encourages their learning is another matter. Good manners and general courtesy is never a bad thing. I just wonder how much an effect it has in terms of expressing feelings and creativity to be so discouraging with talk. From first impressions the system seems to be a cross between the extremely strict Asian one and the relaxed/informal North American one.

I am so glad to be finally in a classroom. I have to admit I was only able to stay awake through one day of lectures at the university. Too much theory and not enough practical information or hands on work. The school is also not equipped or organized administratively for such a large cohort of students this year. It has been frustrating to say the least, but things are looking up.




Advertisement



8th September 2006

yay to first day!
Hey, Scotland sounds like it's going to be a very very interesting adventure. Try to stay awake, will ya? : ) We miss you already. Lora.
8th September 2006

So will you be teaching every day now? Or is a part-time practicum that takes place alongside your classes?
9th September 2006

For the first four weeks it is part time with classes and then I have a almost 1 month block with just practicum. And this is just the first practicum. I still have the preschoolers and the kindergarten and 1st graders.
9th September 2006

Keep going!
Hansee, your blog is really great. I'm so happy you are pursuing your dreams. Sounds great. Keep us posted! I'll have to update you on the latest from Japan when I have more energy...zzz... ;-)
10th September 2006

It's interesting to read your perception of our classes!! I've never heard of education in the UK being even vaguely compared to the strict Aisan system - well behaved children in the UK? That cannot be true... maybe in Scotland it's all love and happiness compared to England, though I cannot imagine an inner city Glasweigan school being such... what sort of school are you at? What age are the children?
10th September 2006

I'm just as shocked as you are. I'm in an average area. Not the wealthiest but definately not the poorest either. The thing is the kids are super well behaved in class but once they are left alone in the playground or in the assembly hall they become as raving loud and rambunctious as any North american kid. I have to observe them more before I can form any real opinion about their behaviour.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb