Pre-Departure (first blog)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
May 7th 2012
Published: May 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Qatar Sand Dunes (from Google Images)Qatar Sand Dunes (from Google Images)Qatar Sand Dunes (from Google Images)

Not my photo! Have my own soon :D
SO... I decided to start a blog for going to Qatar this summer, like all of those self indulgent creeps I normally insult. This is my first post to see how this works, and an excellent "useful" procrastination from revision.

Still waiting to hear back from the company, QAPCO, I'm meant to be working for which is a bit worrying but hopefully hear from them before I actually leave! Can't believe I start work 4 weeks to the day (probs the only British person who has to work on the Queen's Jubilee- but whatevs.)

Been doing some research into what to see/do/wear while I'm there and particularly excited for the Jeep safari tours over the sand dunes, which sound terrifying but lots of fun too. Apparently depending on your tour guide they could have you flying over the dunes and catching lots of air so fingers crossed I get a crazy driver. (Although from the forums I have looked at it sounds like most of the drivers in Qatar are crazy drivers.)

The clothing situation is a bit stressful because a) a girl packing for two months in one suitcase and b) it is a muslim country so will have to cover up quite a lot. Lots of expats and non-Qataris live and work there but a lot of the workforce is made up from other Middle Eastern countries which are even more strict so I think I will err on the safe side and just be super conservative (despite the fact that I'll be sweating baws.)

Anyway, should get back to studying now I suppose!

Julie

XOXO

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb