My room in Glasgow and various happenings


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Panorama 13 secs
Just a note: The next few posts will be a little out of order as we tool pictures using two different cameras and I need my Dad to email me some photos before I do some posts

Alright so we arrived in Glasgow late on the 14th after a long train ride from London. The train was around 6 hours as we went North. It was a Virgin train and was really quite fancy; free wi-fi, complimentary food and drink and power outlets. It was a great way to travel and to top it all off they never validated my Britrail passes so the ticket's still good to be used again!

My place in on the west side of Glasgow near the Clyde river in an area called Kelvinhall. The area is nice and and there are quite a few pubs and restaurants (we tried Korean, Thai and Italian) around. From the looks of it I'm around 15 minutes walk away from the university, which is nice as a)I don't have a car over here and b)it rains a lot (4/6 days so far).

My Dad and I spent the last few days doing a lot of shopping so that my room could get sorted and we managed to get most of it done before he had to leave. The pictures here from my room are from the night I moved in so the room is pretty disorganized but it'll give you an idea of what it's like. The flat has 4 other rooms besides mine, though so far I've only met 2 of my flatmates; Xiao Do from China and James from Nigeria. The rooms are all quite secluded and there is a good chance you would almost never see your flatmates unless you come across them as you're just leaving or coming in, which has its upsides and downsides I suppose. We all share a kitchen/dining room area that has all the basics and is always way too hot; I have no idea how to adjust the heating in there but it is almost always 30c or so.

Well that's it so far. Orientation is next week and my classes start the week after that so I unless something interesting happens the next few posts will be detailing the London and Blackburn portions of my trip.

Cheers,
Nate


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My doorMy door
My door

Nothing too fancy but it keeps the hallway out
On the way to the UniversityOn the way to the University
On the way to the University

The university is the tower in the background
Kelvinhall ParkKelvinhall Park
Kelvinhall Park

I need to cut through here to get to the main building on campus
The art gallery and museumThe art gallery and museum
The art gallery and museum

This is the Kelvinhall Art Gallery and Museum near my place as seen on the walk to school


23rd September 2008

Are you settled in?
Quite the pics Nate. Are you settled in now??How are classes? We are OK here-work is work. I will be in San Fran for dragonboat races Oct 3-6. Take good care of yourself. Gerts

Tot: 0.284s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1924s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb