Snow in Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
November 25th 2005
Published: December 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London to Glasgow


Matt:

My KPMG sponsored tour of the British Isles continues…

This week I find myself in sunny Glasgow, known for its river and curry houses as much as its heroin and knife crime! In fact the producers of Trainspotting apparently decided to film in Glasgow because they didn’t really need to add much to make the place look like Cabramatta on steroids (as well as heroin).

I've actually arrived during the first blizzard of the season, but have really enjoyed my time here! The people have been amazingly friendly (or at least I think they are - I can’t really understand much of what they are saying, but they smile a lot), the food has been great (no matter what people say, haggis is fantastic - especially for breakfast!) and the city itself is pretty kewl.

What has made this trip even better is the fact that the only hotel room left in town for lil’ ol’ me is the palatial ‘Roewellan Suite’ at the Marriott which comes with two bedrooms, two reception rooms, a massive bathroom (complete with spa and bidet) and a complementary fruit basket each morning!

My only opportunity for sight seeing so
The Clyde RiverThe Clyde RiverThe Clyde River

Gooooorgeous, ain't it?
far has been a pre-dawn wander along the Clyde, (which, I’m told, is best viewed in the dark anyway). Hopefully though, I’ll make it back to have a better look around soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Suspension Pedestrian BridgeSuspension Pedestrian Bridge
Suspension Pedestrian Bridge

No, it doesn't swing (I tried)
The Clyde RiverThe Clyde River
The Clyde River

Believe it or not, it's really REALLY cold!
My SuiteMy Suite
My Suite

Reception Room No. 1
My BedMy Bed
My Bed

And yes, it was very comfortable (thanks for asking)
My BathroomMy Bathroom
My Bathroom

Please note the bidet (not to be confused with a wash basin for midgets)


8th December 2005

It Sould Have Been Me
Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!! Look just like our old home at Stewart Place
14th December 2005

Don't listen to your mother
Your room was not unlike the ones that I have booked for your mum and I over the past years

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb