15th Day - Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
June 17th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Tuesday I went to Glasgow. I had to get up really early which was an effort to make sure I got to Euston in time for the 6:46am train. I did thankfully, and 5 hours later I was in Glasgow.

It was freezing in Glasgow, it is taking some getting used to it being this cold when it is supposed to be Summer.. I feel very sorry for the British having such crap Summers. Anyway, back to Glasgow.

I walked into the City Centre, saw the Gallery of Modern Art on my way so went in there and had a look. It was tiny compared to Tate Modern. After havinga look in there I made my way to Glasgow Information Centre and bought a ticket for the Glasgow Sightseeing Bus.

After having lunch a got on the bus and did the full loop around, which gave a really great overview of Glasgow, and I would recommend to do something like this when you have a very limited time in one place.
(I must admit though, I did fall asleep for part of the loop but not because it was boring, I was just extremely tired.)

I then went to the Glasgow Cathedral which also houses the tomb of St Mungo, the founder of Glasgow. Next to the Cathedral is Necropolis, which is a cemetry and I had a quick peep in there (it was raining so it wasn't very appealing to outside for too long).

I did a bit more looking around and hopped on the sightseeing bus again but it was already close to 5 and all the touristy stuff was closing up.

Even though all the tourist attractions were closed I still had 6 hours to kill (my train didn't depart till 11:40pm). I went and saw a movie, What happens in Vegas, and it was much better than I thought it would be. The tickets was close to £10 cheaper than it had been in London as well. Something that I thought was weird though; the movie was scheduled to start at 18:10 but there was nothing till 18:30, no trailers or ads just music. I thought that was quite odd.

After the movie I went to an Internet Cafe, then to dinner (which was very disappointing) and then I just killed time at the station until my train arrived.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb