St Kilda (work party 3) June 2006 Day 10


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 10
It was pouring down and I arrived 10 minutes late for breakfast, much to Davids annoyance!The "dry burn" was a raging torrent,so much water was coming off the hills,mid summer...I don't think so!With such a late night and nothing to do there was only one thing for it ....back to the sleeping bag untill lunch time.
Sam appeared sometime after with a broken dice that was to be used for the evenings entertainment...Puffin racing!She asked if we could repair it but on looking I thought it would be easier to make a new one if suitable wood could be found.I pinched some 3x3 from the feather store and set about the task.After much cutting and sawing,making disks from the old kitchen cutting boards, a dice was fashioned and taken to the Puffinn at 8.50 , the silicon sealant still wet but hopefully the dice would survive the rigours of been hurled around the dance floor.
Before the racing began Colin, a Qinetiq technican,ran a bingo session that seemed to take for ever but was enjoyed by everyone.At the start of racing I was thanked for my efforts by the boys from the base and presented me with a bottle of wine...cheers lads.
I was bothered that the dice would split, as Sarah,the wildlife ranger spun it over the floor and crashed it into the skirting boards,for this occasion at least it survived but for how much longer I couldn't say.
With just my sort of luck the Puffin I "owned" in the first race lost,then, when "bought"by Alice for the next race,it won.....whatever!! This was a fun night that ended a wet and miserable day at 2.30...how many more late nights?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb