Answers to some questions we've been asked.........


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Inverness
October 14th 2009
Published: October 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

7 Days to go.........That's only ONE WEEK !!!! (breathe..just breathe)


I know, it sounds a little crazy to some, very crazy to others, that we are going to Scotland to marry. This has been my dream since I was a little girl, I read too many fairy tales, and since this is my first marriage (and not Ernest's 😊 ) I got to do whatever I wanted. The powers that be knew what they were doing by having me marry later in life cause I never could have afforded this earlier, and my Dad would have never stood for it either!...

My ancestors are Celtic, Scottish on my paternal grandmother's side and the lands of one of her clans, Ross, actually borders the loch, Loch Ness, where we are getting married. I didn't know that at the time I chose this castle, but was very excited to learn it afterwards.

We aren't having anyone go with us to the wedding, it will be just the 2 of us. We knew that having it in Scotland, especially in this time, meant not having friends and family around. But we will have plenty of pictures taken (not by Ernest!

I forbid him taking his camera to the ceremony) and we will also have a video so we will have lots to share.

We are having a handfasting ceremony and I will have a bagpiper and Celtic singer in the ceremony. Handfasting was the word used throughout the ancient Celtic lands of Scotland to refer to a commitment of betrothel or engagement. It was a ceremony in which the couple publicly declared their intention to marry. It is a ritual in which the bride's and groom's hands are tied together - hence the phrase “tying the knot”. The colors of the cords we will use are significant in the Chinese wedding ceremony. The color red in the cords symbolizes passion, courage, strength and health. The color gold symbolizes unity, wisdom and intelligence. These colors are the primary colors used in the Chinese culture to bless a marriage couple

Some of you have asked us if we are registered anywhere. The only gift we ask for is the gift of your blessings and good wishes. However, while we do accept cash, if anyone feels like they must do something special, we ask that you honor us by making a donation to the AllPeopleBeHappy foundation, 10777 Westheimer Rd, Ste 1070, Houston, TX 77042 or . The foundation was established in memory of Eric Tang, the son of Ernest's cousins, Sonny and Barbara Tang.

Advertisement



15th October 2009

You're already making my eyes water. I'm so happy for the both of you.
15th October 2009

Awesome
That is awesome! Congrads again.
15th October 2009

And the color red....
is also for the Dawgs.
16th October 2009

And the color red......
for the Dawgs was a little hidden meaning yes; I was trying to make hime feel a part of it you know

Tot: 0.406s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb