Great Glen Way 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Drumnadrochit
September 4th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day three of my trip was another early start. Doing the West Highland Way and the Great Glen Way I always stuggle to sleep for any lenght of time. Most nights I am restless and I always seem to start very early in the morning. This day was no different and the thing I remeber most about it was that this was the start of the big climb.
This was a sharp climb outside the village of Invermoriston which was about 4miles from the campsite I stayed in. This was the highest part of the entire route and It was very hard going with a large backpack. I met a few people that morning who staying in B&B's in Invermoriston and had there luggage carried to the next B&B in Fort Agustus. At this point it sounded like heaven, but I was dertmined to do it the hard way since I done it this way for the WHW and was going to complete the GGW to.
At the top I finally got my first glimpse on the journey of Loch Ness. Unfortunetly I was so high up and the route did not at any point take you to the banks of the loch. The climb down after 8hours of torture was straight into Drumnadorchit. The path was again a bit bland. Easier to follow, but not as intresting as the WHW.
Drumnadorchit is a decent sized town and its a good place to stock up on anything you need like food or equipment. That night I went to the International returant in the town and treated myself to 2dinners. Food was ok, but it was nice to have something cooked for me for a change.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



13th April 2011
GGW4

Love it there;-)

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb