Backtracking


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Culloden
July 23rd 2006
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Inverness - Culloden - Kinlochleven - Glen Shiel


We got up today, bid farewell to Pat at Ivor Villa, got in one last Yahoo Messenger session with our hubbies, and went on our way. Our first stop today was Culloden. Now, I really get into the history of Scotland...Ali didn't know much about it except what I'd told her but, lucky for me, Ali's major at Uni was archeology so she LIKES learning about old stuff. So we spent a few hours at Culloden walking the battlefield. My Grandma who is 79 also is a bit of a Scottish history buff so I called her from the battlefield (from the Jacobite side, of course). I also picked her some heather...which is absolutely gorgeous by the way. It's not in full bloom for a few weeks yet but the purple among the green makes Scotland even more magical.

After leaving Culloden we backtracked and headed back south. In our rush to get up to Inverness for the Highland Games we never stopped at Ben Nevis. Also, Matt is a huge climbing nut and when I told him that the world's largest indoor ice climbing facility is located in Kinlochleven he asked me to get him a t-shirt and a job application (he was only half joking). So, since it was right there by Ben Nevis, Ali and I stopped by The Ice FActor. They didn't have any job applications but I got him a shirt and chalk bag so that will have to do. I have a feeling that on my return trip with Matt we'll be CLIMBING Ben Nevis lol.

It was getting late so we stopped at the first B&B we saw on the side of the road. He was a middle-aged guy and had a room available so we took it. We're in Shiel Bridge and I have no idea if this place even has a name. He recommended the restaurant up the road which had excellent food. They don't have a shower here...just a tub and Ali and I were both looking forward to a shower, but the beds are comfortable and we need someplace to crash. We head on to Eilean Donan tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb