Feeling Good in Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Fife » Saint Andrews
April 29th 2006
Published: May 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

HumpsHumpsHumps

I think this means speed bumps.
Had a great day in St. Andrews today. Walked around the beach and around the Old Course (only the oldest golf course in the world). Watched some golf...was dissappointed. I thought that St. Andrews required certain handicaps before you could play on the Old Course. Apparently one group of Americans we watched either forged their documents, or somehow slipped by, because they were terrible. One guy hit a car, another almost hit me. We visited the Castle at St. Andrews where they had a Medievel festival going on. Walked around most of St. Andrews...it's a small town so it only takes about a day.

I loved it here. I'm from Arkansas so I like small towns. I like fresh air and open spaces even more.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

A Mini!A Mini!
A Mini!

These things are a lot smaller than I realized.
What's Wrong with this Photo?What's Wrong with this Photo?
What's Wrong with this Photo?

See how confusing this can be.
The Old CourseThe Old Course
The Old Course

Here it is, the centuries old "Old Course" at St. Andrews.
West SandsWest Sands
West Sands

This is the sea shore near the Old Course.
West SandsWest Sands
West Sands

The scrub separating the beach from the golf course.
West SandsWest Sands
West Sands

I tried to write "Wish You Were Here" in the sand, but it didn't come out the way I wanted.
West SandsWest Sands
West Sands

Got my feet in the North Sea. I got my whole person in the sea a day or so later, but stay tuned for that story.
The Old CourseThe Old Course
The Old Course

A green on the Old Course
Yellow FlowersYellow Flowers
Yellow Flowers

Scotland has these flowers everywhere. I don't know what they are, but they are beautiful and covered in thorns.
The Old CourseThe Old Course
The Old Course

That's the fairway in the background.
The Old CourseThe Old Course
The Old Course

The building on the left is the clubhouse for the Royal and Ancient Golf Club. The reddish building on the right is probably the most photographed dormitory in the world. It's one of the student dorms for St. Andrews University.
The Old CourseThe Old Course
The Old Course

Some crappy American golfers on the green. These guys were awful. ne even hit a car.
The CastleThe Castle
The Castle

They had a nice Medievil festival going on.


16th May 2006

Scotland
Beautiful photos- beautiful place. And sunny weather, blue skies! Miss you - Mom
5th June 2006

Mattingly!
Dude, looking good. I was reading about Biodiesel on Wired, and thought of you. Didn't know you had a blog! We miss you here in Fayetteville, bro.

Tot: 0.436s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb