Puffins and Seals and Seagulls, Oh My


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Fife » Isle of May
April 30th 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Isle of MayIsle of MayIsle of May

Cliffs on the western side.

Disclaimer


I know this is late in coming. I know it's been over a month since I actually visited the Isle of May, but I've been a busy boy lately and this is the first chance I've had to post some photo's.

The Isle of May


Need a day trip from St. Andrews? Then I highly recommend the Ilse of May. Take a bus to Anstruther, grab some lunch at Prince Willy's favorite chipper, then hop on the May Princess for a 45 minute ferry ride out to the island.

The Isle of May has no trees, lots of birds, and is small enough that you can walk the length and breadth of it in a day. Puffins and seagulls abound, and during the right time of year, lots of seals too. This was not the best time of year for seals so we only saw a few, but a few is better than none. I enjoyed the island immensely. It was a beautiful place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Fish n' ChipsFish n' Chips
Fish n' Chips

Apparently this was Prince Willy's favorite chip shop while he was a student at St. Andrews. Why the restaurant only had memorabilia from a random visit from Tom Hanks? I don't know. Fantastic fish and chips though.
Isle of MayIsle of May
Isle of May

Note how narrow the passage is to the dock. We almost didn't land because the sea was too rough.
Check the Seal!Check the Seal!
Check the Seal!

You can see him sunning on the rocks.
Isle of MayIsle of May
Isle of May

It's a dark photo, but that's me.
Death on the IslandDeath on the Island
Death on the Island

All you vegans out there, look away now! This is nature at its least cuddly. Primary predator of rabbits on the island - seagulls.


21st June 2006

smile Brian!
NICE TO SEE YOU - oh how I have missed my travels abroad (through you of course!) - can't wait to have you back home....a good southern cookout will be in order!!!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb