Halloween!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Fife » Saint Andrews
October 31st 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

HalloweenHalloweenHalloween

me, Akins, Hilary, and Lissa
I didn't go to any Halloween parties this year, because Halloween fell right before my massive biology paper and organic test. I was surprised to find that Halloween is just as big a deal over here as it is in the US - everyone kept putting on costumes and going to parties for a full week leading up to Halloween. However, there is one difference between the UK and the US: over here, people just make simple costumes using clothes they already own. At home, I get the idea that a lot of people rent really elaborate, expensive costumes. That could just be the Dubyuhnell effect, but St Andrews is a pretty wealthy school too!

Anyway, I did one thing to celebrate Halloween: I dressed up for my bible study! I went as a mad scientist, Hilary (another junior study-abroad, from Boston/Whitman) was "a starry night" (in the Christmas carol sense), and Lissa (a fresher from Maryland) was a Christmas tree. Akins, a second-year from Nigeria/England, didn't dress up but wanted to be in the picture. I thought this picture was hilarious and I hope you enjoy it too!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb