You Take the High Road (Day 12)


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

view from camp at dawnview from camp at dawnview from camp at dawn

view from camp at dawn
Just like the last entry this one may be a little short as well. As I mentioned in the last one today we are heading north, slightly into the highlands to go camping on the shores of Loch Lommond. So of course I'll start off with the lyrics from Bonnie Banks O' Loch Lomond:

Oh! ye'll take the high road and
I'll take the low road,
And I'll be in Scotland afore ye;
But me and my true love
Will never meet again
On the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond.

After messing around for most of the afternoon and visiting Strathaven (where Niall and most of his pals are from, about 20 minutes south of Glasgow) to check out the town and grab camping supplies we got up to the Loch around 8pm or so when the sun was setting. It's the biggest Loch in Scotland and it took us probably 20-30 minutes of driving around the shores of it to find a quality campsite but it was worth the wait. Set up our tents and fire pit right on the shores of the lake, snapped a few pics and got to work making dinner and drinking Buckfast,
tranquilitytranquilitytranquility

tranquility
which is some truly horrible stuff. (recommend googling it) The four of us (Adam, I, Niall, and his friend Lewis (sp?) sat around drinking and talking as the sun set on the gorgeous scenery out here. I heard one of my favorite quotes of the trip so far from Lewis. "When I get up in the Highlands I just want to start killing Englishmen" That pretty much sums up the disdain the Scots have for their neighbors to the south. Definitely something Scots and Americans can agree on, anger towards England whether it be over sport or something more serious. I've certainly been a bit astounded by how much they hate the English, particularly when its over football. A nice surprise, nothing wrong with an old-fashioned hate fest. Anyways, I had a great time out there getting a taste of the Scotish countryside and enjoying a few drinks and laughs with friends. G'night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

campcamp
camp

camp site
loch lomonad at duskloch lomonad at dusk
loch lomonad at dusk

loch lomond at dusk
godgod
god

god?


24th May 2010

what...no carbonara?!?
Matt...I love the blog..great descriptions and humor as well! Thank God you didn't make it to day 4 of carbonara...I was beginning to worry that you developed some weird pasta eating disorder!
28th May 2010

haha thank you very much sherri. i am eating much better now but i wont rule out the possibility of more carbonara at the next hostel

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb