Glasweegians vs. Edinbuggers (Day 11)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
May 22nd 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

view from balconyview from balconyview from balcony

view from balcony
I'm going to rush through the entry a bit as I'm in the middle of pumping out a bunch of entries at once. Got the grand tour of the city today thanks to Adam's flat mate Niall. Took a subway out to the West End, ate lunch at my new favorite place, Baguette Express and walked around some parks, museums and of course the old University of Glasgow. Just a beautiful campus. It looks like you are walking around Hogwarts, just all old Gothic buildings that make you feel like you have gone back in time. I love Penn State but I would not mind having to walk through this campus on my way to class. Also went and checked out the Ibrox, the home of Rangers FC, Scotland's finest club football team. (53 titles and counting!) It's a crazy rivalry between club teams Rangers and Celtic here in Glasgow. The two teams absolutely dominate the league and are each others only form of true competition. Then you add the fact that pretty much all Rangers supporters are Protestant while the majority of Celtic supporters are Catholic and you have the recipe for a pretty strong resentment between the two sides.
adamadamadam

adam's excited!
Personally, I love it. Picked up a Rangers flag for my room back home on our way back to the flat. Niall had a few pals over to drink at night. All very cool guys. I definitely appreciate the Scotch sense of humor, especially when I can understand what they are saying which is kind of 50-50. After leaving Ireland I now have some means of comparing where I go and I have to say I definitely prefer Glasgow and Scotland to Dublin and Ireland. Glasgow really isn't as bad or industrious as people make it out to be and the countryside is nice, kind of like the Poconos haha. The people here just have this upbeat, gregarious, teasing/insulting humor and feel that I quite enjoy. Anyways, that's enough for now. Tomorrow we head up to Loch Lomond for some camping.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

museummuseum
museum

museum
ibroxibrox
ibrox

ibrox
clock towerclock tower
clock tower

clock tower
sexysexy
sexy

sexy


Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb