Scotland 2007, Day 8, Inverness to Thurso


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Caithness County » Thurso
August 3rd 2007
Published: November 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday, August 3rd- Inverness to Thurso:

Well, at this point in the journal I stopped writing specifics and did summaries:
Head to Thurso and stop at a big ass mansion along the way and watch a Falcon show. Rain.
Arrive in Thurso- pouring rain and mom and I walk in it.
Dinner sucked.
Bubble bath for Burt.
So, now I will attempt to go thru and remember what happened (two weeks later)

The big ass mansion (I can turn a phrase, can’t I?) that I referred to above is Dunrobin Castle in Sutherland (East coast of Northern Scotland, about 90 minutes North of Inverness). Parts of the castle date back to 1275. Unfortunately it was raining quite a bit when we went to tour this one and that dampened everyone’s spirits and desire to explore. I remember there was a huge, wonderful fireplace in the foyer and that’s where I spent most of my time. But before that, we all headed down to the garden to see the Falconry Show. The guy brought out the Falcon first and demonstrated its skills. Then he called a name and a owl came swooping down from the trees- neat
View from Dunrobin CastleView from Dunrobin CastleView from Dunrobin Castle

The white vastness in the distance is the North Sea.
trick. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get any shots of the falcon, but took some of the owl. Also, while standing in a field for this, we were introduced to “Midgies”. No, not short people, didn’t see any of them in Scotland. Midgies are gnats that bite like mosquitoes. Charming mix. I think we were all clawing at the bus door to be let in by the end of this visit. I remember the castle was very large and impressive looking, but I didn’t explore it any. The gardens overlooked the North Sea.

We leave there and arrive in Thurso and, somehow, mom and I get a 2nd (or was it a 5th) wind and decide to explore the town- who cares if it’s raining? At first we wandered down the street to where a little street festival was going on. We perused the stalls and I was checking out some jewelry when another “advanced” gentleman decided to come over and offer his opinion on it. Wish I could tell you what he said, but between his accent and the fact that I didn’t want another elderly gentleman flirting with me, I quickly smiled and moved on. After that, mom and I walked and walked and walked towards this ruin that I just had to check out until we got to a river. Then, seeing that it would take some more walking to get to a bridge, cross the river, and walk back towards the ruins, we decided to head back towards the hotel. Unfortunately we only had a vague idea as to which direction that was. However, our return trip introduced us to the ruins of St. Peters. This is the oldest church site in Caithness and what is left today dates back to the 16th and 17th centuries (was founded in 13th century though). Its gates were locked but I got some outside pics and a few inside by shooting thru the gates. Beautiful. Mom and I then rounded a corner and found the street where our hotel was located on. If we had just turned right when we exited the hotel, we would have been at St. Peters within 5 minutes. However, our nice roundabout way got is there in about an hour and a half. Oh well, it was fun walking in the rain (hmm, Mom got bronchitis a few days after this, I wonder…)

Earlier when we left the hotel, we ran into Burt in the lobby and he was disappointed that he didn’t have a bathtub in his room because he needed to soak his leg (see above Bungee jumping reference in Edinburgh). The clerk at the desk heard him say this and instantly moved him to a new room. Burt mentioned that he wished he had bubble bath and Mom, being the nice person that she is, made a mental note. She might as well try being nice, she’s gonna burn for her actions, maybe her words can save her. I doubt it. So, as we were walking back to the hotel we passed a Pharmacy and I went in and picked Burt up some Lavender Bubble Bath. I asked the hotel clerk which room she had moved Burt to and mom and I went to pay him a visit. I knocked on his door and a voice (with the thick NY accent) yelled from inside “Who is it?”. I answered back “It’s Amanda, Burt. I have a present for you.” Burt yelled his reply, “I can’t hear you! I’m in the bathtub!” Mom and I are giggling at this point and I yell back, “It’s Amanda- I have a present for you.” Burt’s loud response “I’m in the bathtub, listening to Brahms!” Mom and I break into hysterics at this point and I yell that I’m leaving the gift outside his door and she and I stumble back to our room. Writing this story doesn’t do it justice- get mom or myself to tell it so we can get the voice and infliction in there. At dinner that night, Burt thanked us profusely for the bubble bath. I wrote above “Dinner sucked” but I can’t differentiate one meal from another from the trip. All involved potatoes and usually a very bland piece of meat (that was always dry) and steamed veggies. Not horrible, but I’ve been spoiled with sauces and seasonings and such so I was able to eat enough to keep me from dying, but I didn’t try for more. Not saying anything against Scotland, just not a place for overly picky, childish eaters. I pretty much would eat cereal or a muffin in the morning, skip lunch, and would have a little bit of dinner. Needless to say, when I got back to LA my jeans were loose. Best diet ever. On one of the final nights, John, who had been wanting to try haggis but hadn’t, found out that the sausages he’d been enjoying each morning were haggis sausages. So, someone tried haggis, and they liked it! Give it to Mikey. He’ll eat anything.

After dinner was a celidh. This one was put on by the local school (or so I’m guessing because all of the dancers were quite young). Mom and I went to it for a bit and enjoyed seeing the little girls giggle as they danced with each other. This couple that was sitting in front of us got up to dance and they were very smooth and beautiful- despite the fact that he was Jack Sprat and she could eat no lean. Other than that, one of our fellow tour members, whose name I won’t bother trying to remember, danced by with his wife and gave mom a flirty little wave and smile. 1) The nerve. 2) Creepy. She and I are not getting the men we had hoped for on this trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb