Wet Ride


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Isle of Mull
July 30th 2006
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Weather Report

First half of the day mix of cloud and sunny periods. Generally adequate for the purpose ! From mid-afternoon incredibly heavy showers increasing in frequency. That seems to be the forecast for the coming week - not good.

Set off with bike hired from campsite at about 8.15am. Drove sedately north along the road that follows the east coast of Mull. Nothing of exceptional interest to see. The landscape on the landward side of the road is largely bracken moorland leading up to high hills while the shoreline is a mix of lock rocky promontories separating rocky bays.

As usual many photo stops and when I reached Salen about halfway along the 21 mile journey I detoured half a mile to its rather run down pier. I had a brief snack / rest and watched some cormorants going about their daily routine on the posts surviving from some earlier construction.

Continued on my way making good progress and was approaching Tobemory about 12.45 when I was enticed into the Aros Park on its southern outskirts. Here are lovely walks past a series of waterfalls and then excellent views across the bay to Tobemory which of course is famed for its colourful lochside buildings.

Eventually reached the town where I wandered awhile and was pleased to find a canister of gas that I was running short of - no danger of cold meals !

Set-off on return journey just after 2.30 and reaching a high point found that for once my mobile had a good signal so ‘phoned Hilary who had left a message the night before. Enjoyable conversation and then off again.

Shortly before 4pm I observed some dark clouds approaching rapidly and was dismayed to find myself rapidly enveloped by a heavy shower. Having only yesterday started to dry out from the wet day on Colonsay this was not good. Stopped put on my waterproofs and decided to continue so as to reach base asap. However within minutes the rain was so heavy that I could not see where I was going so stopped and found shelter under some trees.

Changed into waterproofs but while doing so stumbled against the edge of a rock. Such was the lump that appeared immediately thereafter I thought I had broken the thing. However I successfully kicked a tree in frustration so assumed that it was relatively Ok (leg not tree ). And yes it did hurt.

Beginning to feel cold I decided to move on when the rain eased after 10-15 minutes. I rode through quite heavy rain for twenty minutes or so before it gradually stopped and that mocking sun reappeared.

Arrived back at base shortly after 5.30. Sorted out clothes, had a hot shower followed rapidly by hot pasta. Spent remainder of evening writing blogs, reading newspaper. The noise of the raining falling while I write this is quite incredible. Obviously if the weather continues for many days like this then I will have to consider whether to continue the expedition. Watch this space.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb