Another Roundabout?


Advertisement
Published: May 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from the land of sheep and rabbits! So far I've caused no traffic accidents (but those roundabouts are scary!) and seen some beautiful country. The broom grass is in full bloom. I've explored lots of cemeteries and photographed lots of old churches and other buildings. Yesterday I was at the Battle of Culloden historic site, where 1500 Scots lost their lives in a few minutes trying to route a very superior English force (maybe my rebellious streak is in my genes?) I also travelled the coastline from near Inverness to Banff (saw the Banff Springs Hotel again) and on to Fraserburgh. I've been to two Scout meetings and one Cub meeting here in Fyvie and Banff. Today I worshipped at Fyvie Church of Scotland (Presbyterian) and had lunch at their hall after (tattie and leek soup, rum torte, oatmeal buscuit, tea, and sweet biscuits.) The current building is just over 200 years old, the congregation dating from much further back (need to check my brochure on that for the date). Then it was back to the Fyvie Castle for an inside tour (I walked around the loch three days earlier and saw the grounds and gardens).

The Vale B&B at Fyvie was very comfortable. Now I'm at a farm nearby owned by a couple of genealogy enthusiasts who offered me space in their caravan and she will take me to nearby villages and cemeteries tomorrow. Good internet at a reasonable price si scarce here, but will ahve this one again tomorrow night.

Photographed a pheasant two days ago, saw an old map with my great grandfather's residence at "Porterfield" on it, and have been helped out by many people. But I might still be wandering around Fraserburgh if it wasn't for my GPS which guided me home last night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb