First time for everything!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Aberdeen
February 16th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Busy weekends, I tell ya!

This past Friday, the International students decided to go out and get a taste of Celtic music. The Tunnels, which literally is a huge tunnel under Union Street in Aberdeen was hosting something called "Electric Ceilidh." ( I am not sure of the spelling?) They basically played many different varieties of Scottish music and attempted to have traditional dances. The dancing part didn't go too well, but the music is quite entertaining as well as the men in kilts😊

After the Ceilidh, a couple of us left and took the bus back up to the dorms. This was my first experience riding a DOUBLE DECKER bus, (slightly intoxicated) as well!! Good times!

Saturday was a pretty uneventful day. A couple of friends and I that didn't get tickets to Loch Ness walked around Aberdeen and had lunch at a little cafe on the beach.

Sunday, once again, a bunch of international students decided to go out to a very traditional pub in Scotland and taste some of the traditional food. The first place we were told to go to, The Prince of Wales, seemed decent, until we got in, took our coats off and looked at the menu and realized that they stopped serving dinner an hour ago. When walking around downtown Aberdeen, it is not hard at all to find a pub or cafe, so we found another place shortly called "Ma's." This pub served me my first Scottish meal in its entirety!

I drank Tennants Beer, had haggis as an appetizer, Steak Pie for dinner and Sticky Toffee Pudding for desert. It was all quite good, although I don't think my stomach was used to such heavy food.

After that little adventure, a good friend of mine and I booked a trip to go backpacking in the Isle of Skye for 3 days! She heard about it from a friend and they said it was awesome, so we booked it for the end of April! I am psyched!
This is the group we are doing it through: http://www.macbackpackers.com/index.php

Sadly, I should be getting some reading done. I guess it is "study" abroad afterall...

Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb